| Zone other than the battle zone |
(Batoruzōn Igai no Basho)
Double-sided cards are generally defined by the zones that are put into at the start of the game, differing them from other cards. Although they are always put into the battle zone, if they go into any other zone, a special rule applies so that there no public information issues (such as them appearing on the top of your deck or hand).
For example, cards that are put into your hyperspatial zone at the start of a game can only be put into the hyperspatial zone or the battle zone.
|At the start of your game, separate your psychic creatures from your deck and put them into your hyperspatial zone. If a psychic creature would be put into a zone other than the battle zone, return it to your hyperspatial zone.|
Also, Dokindam X, The Legendary Forbidden and Dormageddon X, Forbidden Armageddon have an effect that if they are put into any other zone other than the battle zone, the player loses the game as an Alternate Loss Condition.
|If this card is anywhere other than the battle zone, you lose the game.|
- If you combine a card that forcibly loses the game as an alternate loss condition with a card that Prevents Defeat, even if the double sided is put into another zone other than the battle zone, the game will continue. Any non-public information discrepancies may occur as the backs of the cards can be seen.
- With the advent of Forbidden Cores, this discrepancy became relatively easy to occur.
- Forbidden Dokindam is forced to be put into your graveyard if it would go into a zone other than the hand or battle zone.
- This doesn't include Under Evolution Creature. Psychic Creatures or Draghearts aren't forced back to the hyperspatial zone if they are put into underneath an evolution creature. This is also true for seals, and doesn't trigger the Alternate Loss Condition of Dokindam X, The Legendary Forbidden.