Duel Masters Wiki
Advertisement
Duel Masters Wiki
Use
プレイ (Purei)
Dmwiki.net: Article

Use is a keyword action.

Details

It is the act of paying the cost of a card, and then following the card's instructions.

It was first referenced on Cyber I Choice.

3000 Cyber I Choice
WaterWater.png / Creature
Cyber Command
7

Shield Trigger Shield Trigger

■ When you put this creature into the battle zone, you may use a card that has "shield trigger" from your hand for no cost.


The following game actions count as using a card, and vice versa. Thus, using creatures would mean summoning them, and thus bypasses effects such as Onikamas, Strange Flow and Senno, Brainwash.

(There is no term for putting an Impulse into the battle zone.)

The steps to play the game actions are as follows;

  • 1) Reveal the card you want to play.
  • 2) Choose any modes for the cards. (if applicable)
  • 3) If you have additional or alternative costs, declare what you paying.
  • 4) If there is a cost increase or decreases, apply them.
  • 5) Declare any targets (Such as creature you are evolving on, spell target, or castle you are fortifying)
  • 6) Pay the total cost.

The cards are then resolved based on their card type.

  • A creature, cross gear, field or impulse is put into the battle zone.
  • A spell is put into your graveyard.
  • A fortress is attached to one of your shields.

See Resolution for how this is handled.

Cross Gear already in the battle zone are not considered to be a "use". They may cross to one of your creatures without triggering the ability of Completely Unidentified.

It was first shown on Cyber I Choice, initially confusing players before it was added as a keyword action in the Duel Masters General Game Rules document on the Duel Masters Official Homepage.

11 Completely Unidentified
WaterWater.png / Creature
???
16000

■ Triple breaker

■ During your opponent's turn, whenever your opponent puts a card in their mana zone or whenever they use a card, skip the rest of their turn.

■ Whenever your opponent's creatures attack, after the attack, skip the rest of their turn.


Support

Cards supporting Use

Supported Card: Card Effect:
Joragon Rising ■ Whenever this creature attacks, you may discard a Jokers creature that costs 6 or less from your hand. If you do, use one of its abilities that start with "When you put this creature into the battle zone".

Cards supported by Use

Supported Card: Card Effect:
Completely Unidentified ■ During your opponent's turn, whenever your opponent puts a card in their mana zone or whenever they use a card, skip the rest of their turn.
Gyou Kinari, The Wicked Evil ■ Whenever your opponent puts a creature and its ability would trigger, you use that ability instead.
Joe Star of Hope ■ Cards used in this game, their costs, and the costs in their text lose their civilization(s). (They become colorless.)
Nidogyurion, Dragon Armored Car ■ During your turn, whenever your opponent uses a card from their hand, untap this creature.
The=DeadNEXT, Electrofused DS ■ Whenever you use a card, you may tap 2 water cards, 2 fire cards and 2 nature cards in your mana zone instead of paying the cost.
Tweeting Bluebird ■ Each turn, the first time you use a Buzzrender2.png Buzzrender ability, you may use it again.
Volzeos Balamord ■ Whenever you use "Guard Strike", you may put the top card of your deck into your mana zone, then choose one of your opponent's creatures and tap it.
Volzeos Balamord, New World King ■ Whenever you use "Guard Strike", you may put the top card of your deck into your mana zone.
Zaessa, First Star ■ Each turn, you may have the first non-creature card you use that turn cost 1 less. It can't cost 0 or less.

■ During your turn, the first time you use a non-creature card, you may draw a card.

Anti-Use Cards

Card: Card Effect:
Brachiodrange ■ Whenever your opponent puts a creature into the battle zone and your opponent's creature's ability would trigger, that ability won't trigger instead. (For example, your opponent can't use an ability that starts with "When you put this creature into the battle zone".)
Wald Brachio, Absolute World King ■ Whenever your opponent puts a creature into the battle zone and that creature's ability would trigger, that ability won't trigger instead. (For example, your opponent can't use an ability that starts with "When you put this creature into the battle zone".)
Zorro Star, Karma Archbishop ■ Your opponent can't use S white.png abilities.

Rulings

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.28 (April 8, 2022)

  • 701.5. Use
    • 701.5a Using a card is paying the cost of a card to perform a function. By using a card, you are "summon"ing a creature, "cast"ing a spell, "generate" a cross gear, "fortify" a castle to a shield, "expand" a field, "use" an aura, "use" an artifact or "use a tamaseed.

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.28 (April 8, 2022)

  • 701.5. 使う
    • 701.5a カードを使うとは、コストを支払ってカードが効果を成せる状態にすることです。クリーチャーを召喚するか、呪文を唱えるか、クロスギアをジェネレートするか、城でシールドを要塞化するか、フィールドを展開するか、オーラを使うか、Artifactを使うか、タマシードを使うかのいずれかのことです。

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.28 (April 8, 2022)

  • 601. Using a Card
    • 601.1. Depending on the card type, to use a card is to summon a creature, to cast a spell, to cross a gross gear, to fortify a castle, or to expand a field. Using a card affects the game.
      • 601.1a A player declares to use a card, including changing conditions. The card leaves the zone it is currently in (usually the player's hand) and is moved to the anywhere zone. If a player is prohibited from using a card, that player can't declare to use that card. Also, pay for alternative costs even if you do not declare it.
      • 601.1b If a player uses a card from their mana zone, the card is moved to the anywhere zone after the payment of its mana cost is completed.
      • 601.1c When paying the cost of a card, the civilizations of that card are paid first.
      • 601.1d The player determines the total cost of the card. Some effects may increase or reduce the cost to pay.
      • 601.1e The player pays the total cost.
      • 601.1f After the mana cost of a card is paid, that card is used immediately. If the card is modal, the player announces the mode choice. Trigger abilities that trigger due using the card trigger.
      • 601.1g If you pay the mana cost, the card will be used immediately.

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.28 (April 8, 2022)

  • 601. カードの使用
    • 601.1. カードを使うとは、クリーチャーを召喚する、呪文を唱える、クロスギアをジェネレートする、城でシールドを要塞化する、フィールドを展開することで、そのカードをゲームに影響を及ぼすようにすることです。
      • 601.1a プレイヤーは、使用する条件の変更も含め、カードを使うことを宣言します。マナコストを増減させる効果がある場合は、この時点で適用する効果を決定します。使用条件を変更する効果や、マナコストを増減させる効果によって、その使うカード自身がゾーンを移動する必要がある場合、その効果は使用できません。
      • 601.1b 使うことを宣言した時点でカードは元々あるゾーンを離れ、どこでもないゾーンに移ります(通常は手札から)。カードの使用を禁止されている場合、宣言そのものができません。また、代替コストを支払えない場合も、宣言することはできません。
      • 601.1c コストを支払う場合は、まず文明を支払います。
      • 601.1d プレイヤーはマナコストを増減させる効果を適用し、そのカードのマナコストを決定します。
      • 601.1e プレイヤーはマナコストを支払います。カードを使うことに際して行うべき処理があればその処理を実行します。
      • 601.1f マナコストを支払ったら、そのカードは即座に使われます。カードが複数の選択肢を持つ場合、プレイヤーは使用する選択肢を宣言します。特定の種類のカードを使用したことによる誘発型能力は、この時点で誘発して待機します。
      • 601.1g マナコストを支払ったら、そのカードは即座に使われます.

Advertisement