Upside Down
上下逆さま (Jōge Sakasama)
DM-Wiki: Article

Upside Down is a keyword action.

Details

It refers to the orientation of card which is the contrary position in which the Card Name appearing on the top of the card while it is facing you.

Currently, the only cards that can be put upside down while in the battle zone are Fields (specifically: D2 Fields).

After their cost is paid, D2 Fields are put into the battle zone and remain there until removed by card removal, or another D2 Field is put into the battle zone.

They also feature an ability known as Denjara Switch.

Denjara Switch—At the PHASE of your turn, you may turn this D2 Field upside down for the rest of the game. If you do, EFFECT

At either the start or end of turn, you may put one of your D2 Fields upside down in order to trigger an ability. There is no way to change them back after they are put upside down without playing a new D2 Field.

Rulings

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.20 (July 17, 2020)

  • 701.27. Expand
    • 701.27a To expand a field is to reveal it in the zone it's in (usually the hand), pay its mana cost and put it into the battle zone. Usually, expanding is possible only during a player's main step.

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.20 (July 17, 2020)

  • 701.27. 展開する
    • 701.27a 展開するとは, フィールドを現在あるゾーン (通常は手札)から, コストを支払ってバトルゾーンに出すことです.プレイヤーは通常, メインステップにのみマナコストを支払ってフィールドを展開することができます.

Trivia

  • While cards put into your mana zone are placed in the opposite direction facing your opponent when they are untapped, it has nothing to do with this term of "Upside Down".
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.