Trigger Ability
トリガー能力 (トリガー能力)
Japanese Wiki: 2776

Trigger Ability is a term given to cards that have an ability that occurs when a specific condition is met.


In the comprehensive game rules, it is described as 誘発型能力 (Triggered Ability).

2 Quixotic Hero Swine Snout
Nature / Creature
Beast Folk


■ Whenever another creature is put into the battle zone, this creature gets +3000 power until the end of the turn.

2 Propeller Mutant
Darkness / Creature


■ When this creature is destroyed, your opponent discards a card at random from his hand.

After the trigger ability meats its condition, the effect is processed. This is known as "Resolution".

Trigger Ability rules

1. A trigger ability can't be resolved during the resolution of other triggered abilities or spells. If a trigger ability occurs during another a spell or other trigger ability, it will until wait until they fully resolved.

Example) if Olzekia, General of Decapitation is put into the battle zone with Savage Earth, you can destroy creatures with the trigger ability of Olzekia after Savage Earth resolves his effect and is put into your graveyard.

2. A trigger ability is resolved after applying each effect from continuous abilities. Creatures that have an static ability that occurs while they are in play have their effects applied first before all other trigger abilities regardless of the order they entered the battle zone.

Example) if you had an Quixotic Hero Swine Snout in the battle zone and summon Funk, Guard of Hope, the continuous ability of Funk resolved first, destroying the Quixotic Hero. While the ability of Quixotic Hero would be due to resolve next, as it is destroyed, the ability doesn't trigger.

3. If 2 trigger abilities were to trigger at the same time, they become pending triggers, and wait to resolve one at a time.

If you have more than 1 trigger ability occur at a time, you may resolve them in any order you prefer. (It doesn't have to be the same order you summoned or cast them.)

Example)when you cast Heaven's Gate and put Milzam, Spirit of Miracles ad Emeralda, Pitch Dragon Elemental into the battle zone, you may resolve the Shield Exchange from Emeralda or the Shield Plus by Milzam ability in any order.

4. When one of your opponents trigger abilities would occur at the same time, the result differs depending on whose turn it is. The active player (who's controlling the current turn) resolves the abilities of cards with a trigger ability first before the other player.

Example) If a Propeller Mutant battles against another copy of itself, both are destroyed. The active player triggers the ability of their Propeller Mutant first.

Example) If you summon Dark Sanji, Darkfang Ninja while your opponent has a Quixotic Hero Swine Snout in the battle zone, and destroy to destroy it with Sanji. Both of these creatures have a trigger ability. If you summoned it during your turn, the ability of reducing a creatures power by -2000 resolves first, destroying Quixotic as it is lowered to -1000 power. However, if it was summoned during your opponents turn (By Ninja Strike), the ability of Quixotic would resolve first, increasing its power from 1000 to 4000, before then being decreased by the 2000 from Sanji, and preventing its own destruction.

5. If a trigger ability triggers during the resolution of another trigger ability, it is treated as a trigger ability that was triggered at the same time (similar to rule 4). Also, if the trigger ability of the active player triggers during the inactive players resolution of a trigger ability, the trigger ability of the active player is resolved preferentially.

Example) Your opponent has a Magnum, Allshot Puppet in the battle zone. You have a copy of Jin, the Ogre Blade ~Young Leader~ in your hand as well as your mana zone. When you summon Jin into the battle zone, you put the second copy of Jin that was in your mana zone into the battle zone with its trigger ability. When that second copy is put into the battle zone, two trigger abilities occur; the Jin and Magnum.

In this case, the active player resolves their card first and the Come Into Play ability of Jin occurs before Magnum.

Example) You have a copy of Truekaiser Max Adrenaline

例)バトルゾーンに相手の《百発人形マグナム》がおり、また、自分の手札とマナゾーンに《若頭 鬼流院 刃》がいるとする。 自分のメインステップ中に《若頭 鬼流院 刃》を召喚し、能力で?2体目の《若頭 鬼流院 刃》をマナゾーンからバトルゾーンに出すと、2体目の《若頭 鬼流院 刃》と相手の《百発人形マグナム》の2つのトリガー能力が誘発する。

この場合、まずアクティブ・プレイヤーから解決するため、2体目の《若頭 鬼流院 刃》のcipを先に解決する。

例)バトルゾーンには自分の《真実の皇帝 アドレナリン・マックス》とその他クリーチャーが、相手の《聖霊龍王 バラディオス》が2体いるとする。《アドレナリン・マックス》はまだこのターン中タップされたことがないとし、ここでその他クリーチャーで相手の最後のシールドをブレイクしたとする。


6 適応予定だったトリガー能力が解決する前に適応対象のカードタイプが変更されたり、攻撃できない等の適応後もゲームに影響するトリガー能力が解決された後にカードタイプが変更されるたりすると、そのトリガー能力はすべてリセットされる。

例)《無敵剣 プロト・ギガハート》を装備した《龍覇 アイラ・フィズ》が《轟く侵略 レッドゾーン》に進化しているとする。このとき、他プレイヤーの《オールデリート》等カード指定除去型の全体除去が適用されると、ウエポンの《無敵剣 プロト・ギガハート》、進化元の《龍覇 アイラ・フィズ》、一番上の《轟く侵略 レッドゾーン》がそれぞれ個別に山札送りの対象となる。《轟く侵略 レッドゾーン》の移動に反応して、《無敵剣 プロト・ギガハート》の置換効果が発動し、龍解する。置換されたため、《轟く侵略 レッドゾーン》は除去を免れ、《最強龍 オウギンガ・ゼロ》もカードタイプ変更により同じく免れる。最終的に山札送りになるのは《龍覇 アイラ・フィズ》のみである。

例)《勝利のプリンプリン》で固められた《最終龍理 Q.E.D.+》が龍回避したり、《覚星龍界 剣聖ジゲン》によって裏返されたりすると、攻撃できない等はすべて無効化される。状況によっては即龍解し直して攻撃に回れる。

7. 同じトリガー能力が並列している場合、S・トリガー、およびS・バックの解決が何よりも優先される。同じS・トリガー等であれば、こちらもアクティブ・プレイヤーに優先権が存在する。逆に非アクティブ・プレイヤーのS・トリガー等と、アクティブ・プレイヤーのそれ以外のトリガー能力が並列した場合は、見かけ上非アクティブ・プレイヤーが優先される格好になる。

例)《「黒幕」》、《音感の精霊龍 エメラルーダ》等。


  • かなり重要なルールのはずだが、ルールブックにもあまり記載されておらず、デュエル・マスターズ公式HPでも一部のカードのQ&A欄にちょっと載っているぐらい。
  • あまり複雑すぎることを大々的にルールブックに載せると、初心者や低年齢層が敬遠してゲームの間口が狭まるから、といった理由はあるだろうが、せめてルールブックの隅に小さい項を作って載せて欲しいところ。
  • 「バトルゾーンに出した時~」のcip能力、「破壊された時~」のpig能力、「攻撃する時~」のアタックトリガーは全てトリガー能力に該当する。 As can be seen in the name, Shield Trigger is also a trigger ability.
  • A triggered ability is always triggered after the event. For this reason, an effect always resolves after the event that the trigger condition was completed. Ex: If you destroy Pharzi, the Oracle by the effect of Dark Soul Creation, the effect of Dark Soul Creation resolves, is put into the graveyard, and may then resolve the Put Into Graveyard trigger of Pharzi.
  • An Attack Trigger is shown as "when(ever) this creature attacks, ABILITY". It doesn't occur when the attack is completed, and is instead resolved immediately after declaring an attack.

Interactions with other abilities

  • Power Attacker is not a trigger ability. It is a continuous ability on a creature that affects the creatures power for the duration of the attack.
  • 《鎧亜の咆哮キリュー・ジルヴェス》など、置換効果を生成するトリガー能力はあるが、置換効果自体はトリガー能力ではない。置換効果は解決の最中に割りこんで実行される効果であり、そもそも、効果と能力は別物である。単に「効果」といった場合は「能力による影響」を指す。
  • 《不滅の精霊パーフェクト・ギャラクシー》のような、「Aする時、かわりにBする」という能力は、一見トリガー能力に思えるが、 継続期間の表記が省略された常在型能力(置換効果)である。
    • 「Aする時、Bする」という能力は、Bを行うのがAした後であればトリガー能力である(《アクア・ハルカス》等)。だが、Aを実行する直前に作用し、別の結果をもたらすのであれば「 Bに割り込んでAする 」という置換効果(を生成する常在型能力)である。Magic: The Gatheringでは混同を避けるため、トリガー能力に「~するたび」を、置換効果に「~する際」を当てている。
  • 「~する(~してもよい)。そうした場合~する(~してもよい)」という、能動的にイベントを起こさせる表記は「コスト」という扱いになる。コストの場合、指定された行動が置換効果などによって結果的に行えなかった場合でも効果は実行する。 例)《邪魂創世》で《アクア・ソルジャー》を破壊しても《アクア・ソルジャー》は実際には破壊されないがドローはできる。
  • ただし、トリガー能力の場合は、指定されたイベントが実際に行われなければならない。 例)《アクア・ソルジャー》は破壊される時に置換効果で手札に戻る。よって、破壊されたという結果は残らず、《封魔妖スーパー・クズトレイン》(トリガー能力)ではドローできない。
  • 詳細は「コスト」のページを参照。なお、「~する」が「~してもよい」と、任意の場合も同様である。(《デッドリー・ラブ》など。)
  • 「Aした時、Bであれば、Cする。」という表記のトリガー能力もある。この際、Bは効果の一部として扱われる。したがって、AしたタイミングでBの条件が満たされずとも、解決時までに条件を満たせればCすることができるようになる。(例:《邪眼皇アレクサンドルIII世》、マナ武装全般、《予言者リク》etc...)
  • 一方、「DであるAした時、Cする。」という表記のトリガー能力の場合は、Dは誘発の条件として扱われる。したがって、AしたタイミングでそもそもDではなければトリガーすること自体がない。結果的にCすることもない。(例:《制御の翼 オリオティス》)
  • 誘発の条件の場合、Aした時にチェックし、解決時に確認することはない。 効果の一部の場合、解決時にチェックする。
  • 「自分のターンのはじめに~」「自分のターンのおわりに~」と書かれたトリガー能力は、そのクリーチャーがバトルゾーンにいた状態で、指定されたタイミングを迎えなければトリガーしない。
    • 例えば、ターンのはじめに覚醒したサイキック・クリーチャーの上に《超時空ストーム G・XX》を進化させた場合、そのままメテオバーン覚醒させることはできない。これは、ターンのはじめを迎えたタイミングでは《超時空ストーム G・XX》がバトルゾーンにいなかったため、そもそもメテオバーン覚醒がトリガーしないためである。
  • 多くのルール用語の例に漏れず、これもMagic: The GatheringのTriggered Abilityから。ただし、MTGでは「誘発型能力」と訳されている。

Other Types of Abilities

  • Continuous Ability 常在型能力
  • Spell ability 呪文能力
  • Substitution effect 置換効果 (Replacement effect 置き換え効果)
    • Destruction replacement effect 破壊置換効果
      • Moyashi/Sprout モヤシ
      • Cancellation 解除
    • Madness マッドネス

See Also:

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.