'''1.''' A trigger ability can't be resolved during the resolution of other triggered abilities or spells. If a trigger ability occurs during another a spell or other trigger ability, it will until wait until they fully resolved.
**However, in the case of triggered capability abilities, the specified event must still be attempted to be triggered. For example, [[Aqua Hulcus]] returns to your hand when it would be destroyed. There, as it wasn't destroyed, it wouldn't draw a card for the ability of [[Super Trash Train, Fuuma Devil]].
*There is also a trigger ability that reads "When you do A, if you have B, do C" In this case, B is treated as part of the effect. Therefore, even if B isn't satisfued at the timing of the A text, C can still occur if the condition is satisfied by the time of resolution (Example: See [[Alexander the 3rd, Emperor of the Demonic Eye]], [[Mana Arms]] abilities, [[Riku, the Oracle]])
**On the other hand, if its written as "When you do A, if there is B, do D", it is treated as a condition. Therefore, it can't be triggered if you don't satisfy the C text of the effect at the time of the A initial trigger. (See [[Oriotis, Control Wings]])
*Trigger abilities such as "At the start of your turn" and "At the end of your turn" don't trigger if the creature is not in the battle zone at the specified time.
**Example) If you evolve [[Storm Genji Double Cross, the Super Temporal]] on an [[awaken]]ed [[psychic creature]] at the start of your turn, you can't use the meteorburn ability as he was not in the battle zone when the turn began, so the [[Meteorburn Awaken]] doesn't trigger.
*The term is also refereed to as a "Triggered Ability" in the [[Magic: The Gathering]] trading card game.
■ When this creature is destroyed, your opponent discards a card at random from his hand.
After the trigger ability meats its condition, the effect is processed. This is known as "Resolution".
Trigger Ability rules
1. A trigger ability can't be resolved during the resolution of other triggered abilities or spells. If a trigger ability occurs during another a spell or other trigger ability, it will until wait until they fully resolved.
Example) if Olzekia, General of Decapitation is put into the battle zone with Savage Earth, you can destroy creatures with the trigger ability of Olzekia after Savage Earth resolves his effect and is put into your graveyard.
2. A trigger ability is resolved after applying each effect from continuous abilities. Creatures that have an static ability that occurs while they are in play have their effects applied first before all other trigger abilities regardless of the order they entered the battle zone.
Example) if you had an Quixotic Hero Swine Snout in the battle zone and summon Funk, Guard of Hope, the continuous ability of Funk resolved first, destroying the Quixotic Hero. While the ability of Quixotic Hero would be due to resolve next, as it is destroyed, the ability doesn't trigger.
3. If 2 trigger abilities were to trigger at the same time, they become pending triggers, and wait to resolve one at a time.
If you have more than 1 trigger ability occur at a time, you may resolve them in any order you prefer. (It doesn't have to be the same order you summoned or cast them.)
4. When one of your opponent's trigger abilities would occur at the same time, the result differs depending on whose turn it is. The active player (who's controlling the current turn) resolves the abilities of cards with a trigger ability first before the other player.
Example) If a Propeller Mutant battles against another copy of itself, both are destroyed. The active player triggers the ability of their Propeller Mutant first.
Example) Say you summon Dark Sanji, Darkfang Ninja while your opponent has a Quixotic Hero Swine Snout in the battle zone, and aim to destroy it with Sanji. Both of these creatures have a trigger ability. If you summoned it during your turn, the ability of reducing a creatures power by -2000 resolves first, destroying Quixotic as it is lowered to -1000 power. However, if it was summoned during your opponent's turn (By Ninja Strike), the ability of Quixotic would resolve first, increasing its power from 1000 to 4000, before then being decreased by the 2000 from Sanji, and preventing its own destruction.
5. If a trigger ability triggers during the resolution of another trigger ability, it is treated as a trigger ability that was triggered at the same time (similar to rule 4). Also, if the trigger ability of the active player triggers during the inactive players resolution of a trigger ability, the trigger ability of the active player is resolved preferentially.
Example) Your opponent has a Magnum, Allshot Puppet in the battle zone. You have a copy of Jin, the Ogre Blade ~Young Leader~ in your hand as well as your mana zone. When you summon Jin into the battle zone, you put the second copy of Jin that was in your mana zone into the battle zone with its trigger ability. When that second copy is put into the battle zone, two trigger abilities occur; the Jin and Magnum.
In this case, the active player resolves their card first and the Come Into Play ability of Jin occurs before Magnum.
Example) You have Truekaiser Adrenaline Max in the battle zone and other creatures. Your opponent has 2 Baradios, Lord of Dragon Spirits in the battle zone. Truekaiser has not yet been tapped this turn, and you break the last of your opponent's shields with one of your other creatures. At this time, the only abilities that trigger are the 2 copies of Baradios. After the first ability triggers which taps your Truekaiser, the ability of Truekaiser can now trigger. As you're the active player, it resolves first and all your dragons are untapped. Then, the second copy of Baladios will have its trigger ability resolve, again tapping each of your creatures.
6. If a trigger ability pending to fit and the target's card type changed before resolving, or is an trigger effect that rendered a creature unable to attack changes its card type after it has resolved, that trigger ability would be reset.
7 If Shield Triggers and Strike Backs are pending with other trigger abilities, they are resolevd before anything else. The active player's effects go first too. If the non-active player has shield triggers that are pending with the active player's trigger effects beside Shield Triggers and Strike Backs, then the non-active player would have the privilege of solving his effects first.
Although it involves fairly important rules, it is only briefly mentioned in the rule books and the Duel Masters Official Homepage in the Q/A section of some cards.
Common Trigger abilities include; Come Into Play ("When you put this creature into the battle zone"), Put Into Graveyard ("when this creature is destroyed") and Attack Trigger ("when[ever] this creature attacks"). As can be seen in the name, Shield Trigger ("when this card is put into your hand from your shield zone") is also a trigger ability. Creatures that have a trigger ability when they leave the battle zone (when this creature leaves the battle zone) were later introduced.
An Attack Trigger is shown as "when(ever) this creature attacks, ABILITY". It doesn't occur when the attack is completed, and is instead resolved immediately after declaring an attack.
A triggered ability is always triggered after the event occurs. For this reason, an effect always resolves after the event that the trigger condition was completed. Ex: If you destroy Pharzi, the Oracle by the effect of Dark Soul Creation, the effect of Dark Soul Creation resolves, is put into your graveyard, and you may then resolve the Put Into Graveyard trigger of the destroyed Pharzi.
Interactions with other abilities
Power Attacker is not a trigger ability. It is a continuous ability on a creature that affects the creatures power for the duration of the attack.
If it is a trigger ability that starts a substitution effect such as Kiryu Jilves, Gaia's Roar, but the substitution effect itself isn't a trigger ability. The substitution effect is an ability that occurs during the resolving.
The ability of "When you do A, do B instead" from Perfect Galaxy, Spirit of Immortality seems to be a trigger ability at first glance, but it is a continuous ability with a substitution effect with its duration omitted.
The ability of "When you do A, do B" such as from Aqua Hulcus is a trigger ability as it does the B action after you do A. However, if it does the B action instead of the A action, it is a situational effect where the A effect never occurs.
The "you may" or "If you do, ____" is treated as a cost. In this case, even if the specified action can't be performed due to the result of a substitution effect, the effect still occurs. For example, even if you destroy Aqua Soldier by Dark Soul Creation and the Aqua Soldier isn't destroyed as a result, you still draw 3 cards.
However, in the case of triggered capability abilities, the specified event must still be attempted to be triggered. For example, Aqua Hulcus returns to your hand when it would be destroyed. There, as it wasn't destroyed, it wouldn't draw a card for the ability of Super Trash Train, Fuuma Devil.
There is also a trigger ability that reads "When you do A, if you have B, do C" In this case, B is treated as part of the effect. Therefore, even if B isn't satisfued at the timing of the A text, C can still occur if the condition is satisfied by the time of resolution (Example: See Alexander the 3rd, Emperor of the Demonic Eye, Mana Arms abilities, Riku, the Oracle)
On the other hand, if its written as "When you do A, if there is B, do D", it is treated as a condition. Therefore, it can't be triggered if you don't satisfy the C text of the effect at the time of the A initial trigger. (See Oriotis, Control Wings)
Trigger abilities such as "At the start of your turn" and "At the end of your turn" don't trigger if the creature is not in the battle zone at the specified time.
603.1. Trigger abilities have a trigger condition and an effect.
603.2. Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesn’t do anything at this point.
603.2a When a step begins, all abilities that trigger “at the beginning of” that step trigger.
603.2b An ability triggers only once each time its trigger event occurs. However, it can trigger repeatedly if one event contains multiple occurrences.
Example: A creature has an ability whose trigger condition reads, "Whenever a creature is destroyed". If two or more creatures are destroyed at the same time, the ability will trigger for each creature destroyed.
603.2c Some trigger events use the word "becomes". These trigger only at the time the named event happens—they don’t trigger if that state already exists or retrigger if it persists. An ability that triggers when a card "becomes tapped" or "becomes untapped" doesn’t trigger if the card is put into a zone in that state.
Example: An ability that triggers when a creature "becomes tapped" triggers only when the status of a creature that’s already in the battle zone changes from untapped to tapped.
603.2d An ability triggers only if its trigger event actually occurs. An event that’s prevented or replaced won’t trigger anything.
Example: An ability that triggers when a creature is put into a graveyard won't trigger if a creature is put into another zone.
603.2e Some trigger abilities require declarations of use, but they are different from card declarations.
603.3. Any abilities that trigger become pending abilities. Then the abilities are resolved starting with the abilities of the active player.
603.3a If a trigger ability is modal, its controller announces the mode choice when that ability triggers.
603.3a Some triggered abiities are written to use an ability with a specific icon. These abilities will be put on standby when they are triggered. Example: When a creature that has 'Kizuna Plus' attacks and puts a card underneath into the graveyard, even if a creature with the icon is destroyed before the ability resolves, the 2 icon abilities at the same are put on standby.
603.4. If a trigger ability has conditions, if the condition is satisfied at the time of resolving the ability, the ability is resolved. It does not matter whether the condition was satisfied at the time of triggering.
603.5. Trigger events that involve cards changing zones are called "zone-change triggers". hand Everything subject to movement between zones including tags, battle zones, manas zones, cemeteries, It is ability to induce change.
603.5a Abilities that trigger when a card is put into the battle zone can be found on creatures, cross gears, weapons and fortresses. Each time an event puts one or more cards into the battle zone, all cards on the battlefield (including the newcomers) are checked for any "put into the battle zone" triggers that match the event.
603.5b Continuous effects that modify characteristics of a card do so the moment the card is in the battle zone (and not before then). The card is never in the battle zone with its unmodified characteristics. Trigger abilities are checked after applying all continuous effects.
Example: If a player has a Courtney, Summer Breeze Faerie in the battle zone and they put a nature card into their mana zone, that card is considered to be of every civilization as it is put into the mana zone. If that player also has a creature with the ability "Space Charge: Darkness", that ability triggers.
603.5c There are abilities that trigger even after a card containing such ability is put into a graveyard. The game "looks back in time" to determine if those abilities trigger, using the existence of those abilities and the appearance of cards immediately prior to the event.
Example: A creature with the ability "Whenever a creature is destroyed, draw a card." and two other creatures are destroyed at the same time. The creatures are put into the graveyard, but the ability will trigger three times.
603.5d Some abilities cause cards to be put into a zone in a certain state. These abilities are static abilities, not trigger abilities.
Example: When a creature with Shield Force abilities is put into the battle zone, that creature has the Shield Force abilities immediately if a shield was chosen.
603.6. An effect may create a delayed triggered ability that can do something at a later time.
603.6a Delayed triggered abilities are created during the resolution of abilities, or as the result of a substitution effect being applied. A delayed triggered ability won’t trigger until it has actually been created, even if its trigger event occurred just beforehand.
Example: The ability to untap whenever this creature taps a creature for the first time When you cast a spell you actually played after casting a spell, "Creathe tapped for the first time this turn It triggers only against the creature, which was already tapped before casting the spell I will not trigger it.