FANDOM


http://dm.takaratomy.co.jp/rule/qa/dm04.html

Rulings

Q: Some of this set's creatures have the "shield trigger" ability. How do they work? A: Creatures that have "shield trigger" work the same way as spells that have "shield trigger." When you put a creature that has "shield trigger" into your hand from your shield zone, you may summon it immediately for no cost. If you do, you put it into the battle zone. Otherwise, you just put it into your hand and may summon it normally later.

Q: When I summon a creature that has "blocker" by using its "shield trigger" ability, can I block with it later during that same turn? A: Yes. Summoning sickness doesn't prevent you from using the "blocker" ability.

Q: If my opponent summons a creature by using its "shield trigger" ability, can I attack it that turn with a creature that can attack untapped creatures? A: Yes.

Q: Some creatures in this set increase costs. For example, Dew Mushroom says, "Each darkness creature costs 1 more to summon, and each darkness spell costs 1 more to cast." How does this work? A: When you want to cast a spell or summon a creature, you check how much it costs. Take the number in the upper left corner of the card. Add any extra costs that come from cards such as Dew Mushroom. Then subtract any discounts that come from cards such as Elf-X, which says, "Your creatures each cost 1 less to summon. They can't cost less than 1." The number that you wind up with is how much mana you need to spend. At least one of the mana must be the same color as the spell or creature.

Q: What happens if more than one creature that increases costs is in the battle zone? A: The creatures each affect how much you have to pay for certain spells and creatures. If 2 Dew Mushrooms are in the battle zone, darkness creatures cost 2 more mana to summon and darkness spells cost 2 more mana to cast.

Q: Are both players affected by the cost increase from these creatures? A: Yes. Any cards that only affect you or only affect your opponent will specifically say so.

Q: Some cards tell me to add cards to my shields. Where do I put them? A: Add them to the end of the row of shields in your shield zone. You can't fill in holes left by shields that were broken earlier in the game, and you can't rearrange your shields (because that might be confusing to your opponent).

Q: Why doesn't this set have the same number of cards from each civilization? A: The Shadowclash of Blinding Night set is about an epic war between the light civilization and the darkness civilization. That's why there are more light and darkness cards in the set. The other civilizations get involved, too. The nature civilization is friends with the light civilization and enemies with the darkness civilization, so some of its cards help light and some of its cards hurt darkness. The fire civilization is just the opposite. And the water civilization is friends with both light and darkness!

Specific Card Questions

Alcadeias, Lord of Spirits/Rulings says, "Evolution—Put on one of your Angel Commands. Double breaker (This creature breaks 2 shields.) Players can't cast spells other than light spells."

Q: If this creature is in the battle zone, can I cast a water spell by using that spell's "shield trigger" ability? A: No. No players can cast any spells that aren't light while this creature is in the battle zone. Players can still summon creatures from any civilization, though.


Chains of Sacrifice/Rulings says, "Destroy up to 2 of your opponent's creatures. Destroy one of your creatures."

Q: If I don't have any creatures in the battle zone, can I cast this spell? A: Yes. If you can't do everything a spell or ability says, just do as much as you can. When you cast this spell, you destroy up to 2 of your opponent's creatures. Then, if you have any creatures in the battle zone, you destroy one of them. If you don't have any creatures in the battle zone, you just skip that part.


Fu Reil, Seeker of Storms/Rulings says, "Players can't use the ‘shield trigger' abilities of darkness cards."

Q: If this creature is in the battle zone, can I summon or cast "shield trigger" darkness cards on my turn if I do it the normal way? A: Yes. If this creature is in the battle zone and a darkness card that has "shield trigger" moves from your shield zone to your hand, you can't summon or cast it immediately. But on your turn, you can pay to summon or cast your darkness cards even if they have "shield trigger."


Gigabolver/Rulings says, "Players can't use the ‘shield trigger' abilities of light cards."

Q: If this creature is in the battle zone, can I summon or cast "shield trigger" light cards on my turn if I do it the normal way? A: Yes. If this creature is in the battle zone and a light card that has "shield trigger" moves from your shield zone to your hand, you can't summon or cast it immediately. But on your turn, you can pay to summon or cast your light cards even if they have "shield trigger."


Gulan Rias, Speed Guardian/Rulings, a light creature, says, "This creature can't be attacked by darkness creatures. This creature can't be blocked by darkness creatures." Photocide, Lord of the Wastes, a darkness creature, says, "This creature can't attack players. This creature can attack untapped light creatures."

Q: If my opponent has an untapped Gulan Rias in the battle zone, can my Photocide attack it? A: No. If one card says you can do something and another says you can't, the "can't" wins.


Mist Rias, Sonic Guardian/Rulings says, "Whenever another creature is put into the battle zone, you may draw a card."

Q: Does this work both for my creatures and for my opponent's creatures? A: Yes. Whenever any creature other than this Mist Rias is put into the battle zone, you get to draw a card. It doesn't matter whose creature it is.

Q: Do I get to draw a card when a player summons an evolution creature? A: Yes. An evolution creature is a creature.

Q: Do I get to draw a card when I put an evolution creature on top of this creature? A: No. When the evolution creature enters the battle zone, this creature is gone.

Q: I summon Chaos Worm, which says, "When you put this creature into the battle zone, you may destroy one of your opponent's creatures." I destroy my opponent's Mist Rias. Does my opponent get to draw a card? A: Yes. When you put Chaos Worm into the battle zone, its ability and Mist Rias's ability both trigger. Your Chaos Worm's effect happens first because it's your turn, and Mist Rias is destroyed. Mist Rias's effect still happens, though. Mist Rias saw Chaos Worm enter the battle zone, so your opponent gets to draw a card.


Mongrel Man/Rulings says, "Whenever another creature is destroyed, you may draw a card."

Q: Does this work both for my creatures and for my opponent's creatures? A: Yes. Whenever any creature other than this Mongrel Man is put into a graveyard from the battle zone, you get to draw a card. It doesn't matter whose creature it is.

Q: Can I draw a card when a creature loses a battle? A: Yes. When a creature loses a battle, it's destroyed. If 2 creatures that have the same power battle each other, they're both destroyed.

Q: I have 2 Mongrel Mans in the battle zone when another creature is destroyed. Can I draw 2 cards? A: Yes. Each Mongrel Man lets you draw a card.

Q: This creature and another creature are destroyed at the same time. Do I get to draw a card? A: Yes. You can draw a card for the other creature that's destroyed (just not for Mongrel Man itself).

Q: This creature and other creatures are destroyed at the same time (by a card such as Vampire Silphy). How many cards can I draw? A: You can draw a card for each other creature that's destroyed (just not for Mongrel Man itself).

Q: When Mighty Shouter is destroyed, does this creature let me draw a card? A: No. Mighty Shouter isn't actually destroyed. When it loses a battle or an effect would otherwise destroy it, Mighty Shouter is put into its owner's mana zone instead of being destroyed. Since Mighty Shouter isn't destroyed, Mongrel Man doesn't let you draw a card. The same is true for cards such as Aqua Knight and Ouks, Vizier of Restoration.


Purple Piercer/Rulings, a darkness creature, says, "This creature can't be attacked by light creatures. This creature can't be blocked by light creatures." Aeris, Flight Elemental, a light creature, says, "This creature can't attack players. This creature can attack untapped darkness creatures."

Q: If my opponent has an untapped Purple Piercer in the battle zone, can my Aeris attack it? A: No. If one card says you can do something and another says you can't, the "can't" wins.


Shadow Moon, Cursed Shade/Rulings, a darkness creature, says, "Each other darkness creature in the battle zone gets +2000 power."

Q: What happens if 2 Shadow Moons are in the battle zone? A: Each Shadow Moon gets +2000 power from the other Shadow Moon. The rest of the darkness creatures in the battle zone each get +2000 power from each Shadow Moon, for a total of +4000 power each.

Aquan

Since Aquan was released in the Japanese DM-04, I think we should mention it somewhere. BlitzerRyuusei 18:12, June 17, 2011 (UTC)

Thats a good point, I missed you mentioning this at first. Only found it while searching "Talk:" looking for something else I did recently. And that goes for Skeleton Vice and others like Streaming Shaper too. Ill save this into my bookmarked "to do" folder. Yami Michael 06:59, June 18, 2011 (UTC)

  • Its nice too, as there was another one I noticed recently, with Marine Flower and Aqua Guard being swapped. I dont think there as anything else in dm1/2 though. Yami Michael 07:00, June 18, 2011 (UTC)
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.