FANDOM


Sympathy
Japanflag シンパシー (Shinpashī)
Released:
DM-13 Eternal Phoenix
Japanese Wiki: 1158
Category for Sympathy

Sympathy is a keyword shared among each of the 5 monocolored civilizations.

Details

This ability features on both creatures and spells. It allows a creature to be summoned or a spell to be cast for 1 less mana for each of your creatures of any specified race currently in the battle zone. The cost of cards decreased in this way can't be less than either 1 (or 2 for a multicolored card).

It has 3 variants; Double Sympathy, Genius Sympathy and Triple Sympathy.

Reminder Text

The latest reminder text for Sympathy reads;

Sympathy: "RACE" (This creature/spell costs 1 less to summon/cast for each of your "RACE" creatures in the battle zone. It can't cost less than X.)

Example

Dolgeza, Veteran of Hard Battle

Water + Nature / Creature / Earth Eater + Giant / 8 / 9000
(This creature is put into your mana zone tapped.)

Sympathy: Earth Eater and Giant (This creature costs 1 less to summon for each of your Earth Eater and Giant creatures in the battle zone. It can't cost less than 2.)

■ When you put this creature into the battle zone, you may draw a card for each of your Earth Eaters in the battle zone. Then you may draw a card for each of your Giants in the battle zone.

■ Double breaker

Dmx12a-s3


Cards with the Sympathy ability

Rulings

(NOTE: These rulings were written before DM-14's release, which did not featured monocolored creatures with the Sympathy ability. Multicolored reatures with 2 civilizations can't have their cost reduced less than 2, whereas monocolored creatures can have their cost reduced to 1.)

  • Q: How do I use Sympathy?
    • A: Sympathy is an ability that lowers the cost of summoning the creature. Sympathy specifies two different races, and if you have any creatures of the specified race in the battle zone, you pay 1 less mana for each of these creatures in the battle zone in order to summon the creature. However many creatures of the specified race you have in the battle zone, you can't decrease the creature's summon cost to less than 2.
  • Q: If I have 1 creature that is of both races specified by Sympathy, does the cost go down by 2?
    • A: No, the cost goes down by 1 for each creature, so it doesn't go down by 2. It goes down by 1.
  • Q: I have one creature in my battle zone. It has both races specified by Sympathy on a spell card. Does the Sympathy spell's cost go down by 2?
    • A: No, it only decreases by 1 mana for each 1 creature. It is the same as when trying to summon a creature like this. (see the previous question)
  • Q: If I have other means of reducing the cost of using spells, like Essence Elf, can I use Sympathy at the same time?
    • A: Yes, you can. However, no matter how many different ways you are using to reduce the spell's cost, you cannot play a spell for less than 1 cost.

Color percentages

There are a total of 14 cards with the Sympathy ability, which divide by civilization as such:

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.