Duel Masters Wiki
Advertisement
Duel Masters Wiki
Put Into Graveyard
pig
Dmwiki.net: Article
Category: Put Into Graveyard

Put Into Graveyard is a term used for the ability of creatures that triggers when they are put into your graveyard from the battle zone (also called destroy).

It is also commonly referred to as a "PiG" ability.

Details

It's is usually templated as "When this creature is destroyed, EFFECT". This appears as "このクリーチャーが破壊された時" in the Japanese text.

This ability is triggered whenever a creature with the ability is destroyed and put into that players graveyard. This also covers destruction by the effect of any card, including destruction by battle.

Due to its mechanics, it can be slower to trigger than a regular Come Into Play ability. However, it can be played together with Self Removal cards.

However, this also leads to creatures having lower costs due to these disadvantages to the slower timing. This can lead to causing problems for your opponent in the early game trying to remove them and avoid their trigger.

These types of cards also work well in suicidal attacks (possibly after tapping your opponent's creatures). They also work together with Creature Recovery cards to be able to continually reuse them.

Abilities that trigger when a creatures "leaves the battle zone" are a much stronger version of a PiG ability, as they trigger regardless of how the creature is moved from the zone, such as Bounce or Mana Feed.

2 Propeller Mutant
Darkness Darkness.png / Creature
Hedrian
1000

When this creature is destroyed, your opponent discards a card at random from his hand.


There are various keywords such as Shield Go, Doron Go, Last Burst or Escape that trigger when a creature with them is destroyed.

Rules

  • When a card such as Jack Viper, Shadow of Doom puts one of your creatures with a PiG ability into a zone other than your graveyard, their ability is not triggered due to the substitution ability.
  • Cards such as Dark Soul Creation and Deadly Love can be used with these types of creatures. The "destroy" on these abilities all qualify as being "put into your graveyard", as they are being paid for a Cost.
  • The similar "When they would leave the battle zone" ability triggers at the same time as a PiG ability. When both of them would be triggered at the same time, the owner of the cards chooses the order.

Support

Cards that support your creatures being put into your graveyard.

Support Card: Card Effect:
Tizoris, Emperor Dragon Armored ■ Each of your creatures' abilities that would trigger when your creatures are destroyed or when they would leave the battle zone, trigger twice instead.

Cards that support your opponents creatures being put into their graveyard.

Supported Card: Card Effect:
Bal Bars, Dust Light Guardian Whenever one of your opponent's darkness or fire creatures is destroyed, untap this creature.
Bell Hell De Gaul, Footprint of the Reaper Whenever one of your opponent's creatures is destroyed, shuffle your deck. Then reveal the top card of your deck. If that card is a non-evolution Demon Command, put it into the battle zone. If it's not, put it into your hand.
Gaial Killer Dragon, Gunlord ■ Each turn, the first time one of your opponent's creatures is destroyed that turn, untap this creature.
Ginger, True Flash Believer Whenever one of your opponent's creatures is destroyed, your opponent discards a card at random from their hand.
Metamorphose, Demon Right God Whenever one of your opponent's creatures is destroyed, you may return a creature from your graveyard to your hand.
Slash and Burn Whenever any of your opponent's creatures is destroyed this turn, your opponent chooses a card in his mana zone and puts it into his graveyard. Then he chooses one of his shields and puts it into his graveyard.
Valhalzark, Concatenated Destruction Seal Whenever one of your opponent's creatures is destroyed, shieldify the top card of your deck and this creature gets +6000 power until the end of the turn.
Wand, Botanist Whenever one of your opponent's creatures is destroyed, put a creature that costs 1 less than it from your graveyard into the battle zone.

Other Details

Rules

  • Q: Does Katana, Withering Light's Life trigger even if its the first creature destroyed?
    • A: Yes, it will trigger for itself. source [2020.9.18]
  • Q: What happens if Necrodragon Guljeneraid and other dragons are destroyed at the same time?
    • A: As the dragons are destroyed at the same time as 'Necrodragon Guljeneraid', the trigger condition of 'if this card is in your graveyard' isn't met, so it stays in your graveyard. source [2020.10.23]
  • Q: You have Jokotsuki, Bijouga and a multicolored creature in the battle zone. What happens when the multicolored creature is destroyed?
    • A: You can't draw a card as you don't have a multicolored creature in the battle zone when you resolve the trigger ability. source [2021.2.19]
  • Q: An Alice-1, Lawless that was under one of your evolution creatures was destroyed by the Come Into Play effect of Jack Alcadeias, Dark Gaia. Can you use the "when this creature is destroyed" ability of Alice-1, Lawless?
    • A: No, it can't be used. The 'when this creature is destroyed' ability only triggers of the creature was in the battle zone as a creature before it was put into the graveyard. source [2022.4.8]

Effects and Abilities

Effects

Abilities

Advertisement