Duel Masters Wiki
Advertisement
Duel Masters Wiki
Psychic Creature
サイキック・クリーチャー (Saikikku Kurīchā)
Dmwiki.net: Article
Category: Psychic Creature

Psychic Creature is a Psychic creature card type.

Details

They are a form of Double Sided Card introduced in DM-36 Psychic Shock.

A psychic creature begins the game in your Hyperspatial Zone which is situated next to your graveyard. You are limited to 8 psychic creatures per hyperspatial zone and they are counted separately from your deck of 40 cards. At any time during a duel you are allowed to look at your opponent's hyperspatial zone as it's considered a Public Zone.

Psychic Creatures are put into the battle zone from your hyperspatial zone through various card effects, commonly spells that have "Hyperspatial" in their name.

  • Although the majority of Hyperspatial spells that put psychic creatures into the battle zone follow the naming theme, "Hyperspatial _____ Hole" (except Kizuna Blaster and Power of Our Friendship!), there is no uniform naming convention for creatures that have effects which put psychic creatures into the battle zone.
5 Hyperspatial Bolshack Hole
Dmx8-33.jpg
Fire Fire.png / Spell

■ Destroy one of your opponent’s creatures that has 3000 power or less.
■ Choose one of the following:

► Put any number of psychic creatures that have total cost 5 or less from your hyperspatial zone into the battle zone.
► Put a fire psychic creature that costs 7 or less from your hyperspatial zone into the battle zone.

(At the start of your game, separate your psychic creatures from your deck and put them into your hyperspatial zone. If a psychic creature would be put into a zone other than the battle zone, return it to your hyperspatial zone.)


A psychic creature card is a Double Sided Card, and usually features a creature on both sides. When the lower cost triggers its awaken ability by satisfying a condition, you may flip the card over to its higher cost side. This gives the creature a higher power and improved card effects.

7 Bolshack Dragon, the Temporal Blaze
Dmd18-11a.jpg
Fire Fire.png / Psychic Creature
Armored Dragon
6000+

■ While attacking, this creature gets +1000 power for each fire card in your graveyard.
■ Double breaker (This creature breaks 2 shields.)
■ Awaken—When this creature wins a battle, flip this creature to its higher cost side.


The higher cost side of a psychic creature may also have the Release keyword.

14 Bolshack Möbius, Victory Awakened
Dmd18-11b.jpg
Fire Fire.png / Psychic Creature
Armored Dragon
12000+

■ Whenever this creature attacks, you may put one of your shields into your graveyard. If you do, you may destroy one of your opponent's creatures that has power 6000 or less.
■ Each turn, you may untap this creature the first time it is tapped.
■ While attacking, this creature gets +1000 power for each fire card in your graveyard.
■ Triple breaker (This creature breaks 3 shields.)
■ Release (When this creature would leave, flip this creature to its lower cost side instead.)


DM-38 Angelic Wars introduces Psychic Creatures that have the Loop Awaken ability that allows them to flip sides on certain conditions.

DM-39 Psychic Splash introduced a Evolution Psychic Creature, Storm Genji Double Cross, the Super Temporal that can be evolved on other Psychic creatures when they are put into the battle zone.

DMR-01 First Contact introduced a new type of psychic creature, the Psychic Super Creature. These are comprised of 2 or 3 Psychic Creatures that are able link together if they satisfy a condition with the Psychic Link keyword.

Psychic Creatures are often seen as a sign of Power Creep as the Hyperspatial Cost of the creature is only used to determine what kind of hyperspatial cards can put it into the battle zone. As a result, a finisher-level creature such as Dias Zeta, the Temporal Suppressor can be put into the battle zone for 5 mana with no drawbacks (Assuming the card that calls it out is Hyperspatial Emperor Hole).

Gallery

(These cards are an example of Psychic Creature cards from DM-36 Psychic Shock.)

These creatures can Awaken and flip over into the following forms.

List of Psychic Creatures

Support

  • For a full list of cards that support Psychic Creatures, see here.

Rules

  • Psychic creatures are affected by any card that specifies creatures, such as Terror Pit, Natural Snare, and Aqua Surfer.
  • Psychic creatures are not considered to be summoned into play. They can only be put into the battle zone by a spell or effect such as the Hyperspatial spells or by various creatures, signified with a lightning around the card. You can't put it into the battle zone by paying its cost.
  • Psychic creatures that go to a zone other than the battle zone are put into that zone briefly before returning to the Hyperspatial Zone (so effects that check for a creature changing zones, such as Super Trash Train, Fuuma Devil's, still trigger).
  • Psychic creatures may be evolved like a normal creature. If the evolution creature leaves the battle zone, the psychic creature under it is briefly put into the same zone before being returned to the Hyperspatial Zone. If only the top card of the evolution leaves the battle zone, the psychic creature under it stays in the battle zone.
  • A psychic creature doesn't provide any mana as it can only ever be in your battle or Hyperspatial Zone, whenever a Psychic Creature is to leave the battle zone, it returns to the Hyperspatial Zone after briefly inhabiting the intended zone. Psychic creatures do get summoning sickness and can't attack on the turn they are put into play.
  • An awakened or released creature doesn't have summoning sickness. So if you awaken a Psychic creature during your turn (and had already put it into the battle zone the previous turn or earlier) you can attack with it on the same turn you awakened it. However, if an awakened psychic creature gets put into the battle zone directly in its awakened form and it reverts to its non-awakened form using some way in the same turn, the creature gets summoning sickness.
  • Any card effects that affected the psychic creature before awakening or release continue to effect it. So, if you cast a spell such as Colossus Boost on Bolshack Dragon, the Temporal Blaze, giving it +4000 power, and flip it, the newly awakened Bolshack Möbius, Victory Awakened will now have 16000 power (12000+4000).
  • A cross gear attached to a Psychic creature stays crossed to the creature after it awakens or uses its release ability.
  • When flipped over by its Awaken or Release ability, a Psychic creature retains its original tap status. If it was previously tapped, it remains tapped. If it was untapped, it stays untapped.
  • You can still cast Hyperspatial spells to put Psychic creatures into the battle zone even if you can't do the other effects listed on the Hyperspatial spell. For example, if the opponent had no creatures to destroy with Hyperspatial Bolshack Hole, you could still use it to put a Psychic creature into the battle zone.
  • Any player may view the contents of any Hyperspatial Zone at any time, even before the game begins.
  • It isn't mandatory to put a Psychic Creature in its weaker form into the battle zone. For example, if you have a card such as Hyperspatial Bolshack Hole that allows you to put a fire Psychic Creature that costs 7 less into the battle zone, you can put the awakened side of Jonjo Jon, the Awakened Adventurer that costs 5 into play.

Ruling

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.28 (April 8, 2022)

  • 804. Psychic Creature
    • 804.1. A Psychic Creature is a card that has a different side on both sides of its printed card, with no card back. Each side of the card may have an ability to change from one side to the other.
      • 804.1a Many Psychic Creatures have an 'Awaken' ability to flip when a certain condition is fulfilled.
      • 804.1b Some Psychic Creatures have the ability to flip over to their lower costing side instead of leaving the battle zone, as a replacement effect.
      • 804.1c Some Psychic Creatures have a Psychic Link ability that can flip over multiple Psychic Creatures at the same time and link them as a Psychic Super Creature.
      • 804.1d Each player is able to look at both sides of any psychic creature in a hyperspatial zone at any time.
    • 804.2. Each side of a psychic creature has different characteristics.
    • 804.3. When a spell, ability, effect or game rule requires information about a Psychic Creature, it only refers to the visible information by the face up side of the card.
    • 804.4. Psychic Creatures are put into the hyperspatial zone at the start of the game.
      • 804.4a Psychic Creatures can't be summoned by paying their cost. Specific creature and spell abilities are able to put them into the battle zone.
      • 804.4b When a Psychic Creature is put in a zone other than the battle zone, it's immediately returned to the hyperspatial zone.
    • 804.5. If a Psychic Creature flips over, that creature is treated as the same creature. If the Psychic Creature is tapped after it awakens, then the creature stays tapped. Any effects that affected that creature continue to apply.

      Example: If a Psychic Creature had its power decreased by 2000, that effect remains after its flipped.

      Example: If an attacking Psychic Creature flips over, the attack still continues.

    • 804.6. An awakened Psychic Creature doesn't have summoning sickness.
      • 804.6a If an awakened Psychic Creature flips over again due to a non-Awaken ability, it won't be affected by summoning sickness if it was in the battle zone since the start of the turn.
    • 804.7. If a player chooses a card name due to an effect, that player may choose a card name on either side of the psychic creature.

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.28 (April 8, 2022)

  • 804. サイキック・クリーチャー
    • 804.1. サイキック・クリーチャーとは, 通常のカードのように一方にデュエル・マスターズのカードの表面, もう一方にデュエル・マスターズのカードの裏面があるのではなく, 両方にデュエル・マスターズのカードの表面があるカードです.各面は, 一方からもう一方の面に変える能力を持つことがあります.
      • 804.1a 多くのサイキック・クリーチャーは, 特定の条件が満たされた時点でそのクリーチャーを「裏返す」覚醒能力を持ちます.
      • 804.1b 一部のサイキック・クリーチャーは, バトルゾーンを離れる時にかわりにコストの小さい面に裏返す解除能力を持ちます.これは置換効果です.
      • 804.1c いくつかのサイキック・クリーチャーは, 複数のサイキック・クリーチャーを同時に裏返してサイキック・スーパー・クリーチャーにリンクする覚醒リンク能力を持ちます.
      • 804.1d 各プレイヤーはサイキック・クリーチャーがどのゾーンにあるときでも, 両方の面を見ることができます.
    • 804.2. サイキック・クリーチャーの各面はそれぞれに独立した一連の特性を持ちます.
    • 804.3. 呪文, 能力, 効果, あるいはルールがサイキック・クリーチャーの情報を必要とする場合, それはそれを適用する時点で表になっている面が与える情報のみを参照します.
    • 804.4. サイキック・クリーチャーはゲーム開始時に超次元ゾーンに置かれます.
      • 804.4a サイキック・クリーチャーはマナコストを支払って召喚することはできません.呪文やクリーチャーの能力によりバトルゾーンに出すことが可能です.
      • 804.4b サイキック・クリーチャーがバトルゾーン以外のゾーンに置かれたとき、即座に超次元ゾーンに戻ります。
    • 804.5. サイキック・クリーチャーが裏返ってもそのクリーチャーは同一のクリーチャーとして扱います.タップされた状態のサイキック・クリーチャーが覚醒してもタップされたままであり, そのクリーチャーに適用される効果は, それが裏返った後も適用され続けます.例 . ターン終了時までパワー-2000 の修正を受けたサイキッククリーチャーが裏返った場合, 裏返った後もパワー-2000 の修正は残ったままである.例 . 攻撃中のサイキッククリーチャーが裏返った場合, その攻撃は続行される.
    • 804.6. 覚醒したサイキック・クリーチャーは召喚酔いに影響されません.
      • 804.6a 一度覚醒したサイキック・クリーチャーが覚醒以外の効果によって再度裏返っても, それがターンのはじめからバトルゾーンにある自分のにあったのであれば新たに召喚酔いに影響されません.
    • 804.7. 何らかの効果によりプレイヤーがカード名を 1 つ指定する場合, そのプレイヤーはサイキック・クリーチャーのいずれか一方の面のカード名を指定できますが, 両方は指定できません.

Advertisement