Psychic Cost
(Saikikku Kosuto)
DM-Wiki: [ Article Article]

Psychic Cost is a number written on the upper left of the Card Frame.


It was also formally known as a Hyperspatial Cost.

It appears on Psychic Creatures and Draghearts; card types that are put into the hyperspatial zone at the start of a game.

The number is referenced when you use the ability of a Hyperspatial spell or a Draguner.

While most card types have a number in the same position known as a Mana Cost, Psychic and Dragheart card's are not considered to have a mana cost.

Generally, the higher psychic cost of a card, the high spec of that card. However, as that number increases, the types of cards capable of bringing it out of the hyperspatial zone decreases.

  • When referring to the cost of a psychic or dragheart creature with the ability of Grudge Gathering or Soulshift, apply the Psychic Cost value instead.
  • Many of the psychic creatures that appeared in the Psychic Shock had psychic costs that were double the cost of their pre-awakened side. As most are a cost around 14, you can bring out Storm Genji Double Cross, the Super Temporal fairly easily. The cost of most Dragheart creatures increase by 3 after they dragsolution.
  • Psychic Super Creatures also have a psychic cost, but these costs are too high to be played by other cards, and can only be used with the Psychic Link ability.
  • As a single cell has no characteristics, the psychic cost is treated as 0. Therefore, for Card Based Removal, they are easily removed. While Glenmalt "Head", Dimension Dragon Edge can put out psychic cells from your hyperspatial zone into the battle zone, they are automatically returned as they can't exist unlinked.
  • The cost required to bring out a psychic creature is not the same as a the creature itself. For example, you may put out Chakra, Temporal Thunder Dragon (7) with a Hyperspatial spell such as Hyperspatial Shiny Hole (5) or Hyperspatial Dravita Hole (5), this is known as Real Cost.
    • This allows them to be resistant to Cost Based Removal.
    • On the other hand, Dragheart will use a Draguner that often have a higher cost than the card they bring out. They do however also put Weapon or Fortresses into the battle zone which can be difficult to remove.
  • Although Forbidden cards are often 2-sided cards, they don't have a Psychic Cost as they aren't a psychic or dragheart card type, therefore they aren't put into the hyperspatial zone, and aren't treated as having any mana cost.


From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.17 (December 13, 2019)

  • 112.4. The cost of a card while its in the Hyperspatial Zone or Super Gacharange Zone is the cost referenced during the game.

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.17 (December 13, 2019)

  • 112.4. 超次元ゾーンや超GRのコストは、ゲーム中に参照されるコストのことです。

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.17 (December 13, 2019)

  • 112.5. When in the battle zone, effects that refer to the mana cost of a card refer to Mana cost and Psychic Cost in the same way.

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.17 (December 13, 2019)

  • 112.5. マナコストも超次元コストも, コストを参照する効果がある場合, 同様のものとして扱います.

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.