| Madness |
There are 2 types of these "Madness" abilities. They are both Substitution Effects.
During your opponents turn
|Dava Torey, Seeker of Clouds|
|Light / Creature / Mecha Thunder / 6 / 5500|
|■ During your opponent's turn, if this creature would be discarded from your hand, put it into the battle zone instead.|
They are worded as
|During your opponent's turn, if this creature would be discarded from your hand, put it into the battle zone instead.|
It appeared on popular cards such as Terradragon Arque Delacerna, Baiken, Blue Dragon of the Hidden Blade and Sanfist, the Savage Vizier. It also features on the Admiral archetype of creatures who each feature this ability.
While they can only be put into the battle zone during your opponents turn with their abilities, they can be used if one of your cards such as Emergency Typhoon or Hundred Eyes, Secret Spirit Treasure discards it from your hand with its Shield Trigger ability.
- Psychen Pippi and Super Psychen Pippi is also seen as similar to this type of ability, but with putting a different creature (Gaial Kaiser) into the battle zone instead.
By opponents cards
|Ribbit NICE Hanzou|
|Darkness / Creature / Demon Command / 7 / 5000|
| ■ When you put this creature into the battle zone, choose one of your opponent's creatures in the battle zone. That creature gets -6000 power until the end of the turn. (A creature that has power 0 or less is destroyed.)
■ When the ability of one of your opponent's creatures or spells would discard this creature from your hand, you may put it into the battle zone instead.
They are worded as
|When the ability of one of your opponent's creatures or spells would discard this creature from your hand, you may put it into the battle zone instead.|
Unlike the "During your opponents turn" cards, you can't use your own cards to summon these creatures as only your opponents abilities or spells can trigger them.
Currently, they can only be triggered by your opponent's creatures or spells, so Cross Gears or Castles such as Master Weapon - All Yes or Tsunami Catastrophe do not trigger them. Psychen Pippi, Alien Father and Mother Alien are similar in how they are triggered by your opponents cards, but are put into the mana zone, not the battle zone.
As Card Discard can be seen as a powerful and standard tactic of control decks, the madness ability proves itself to be a valuable presence to help combat them.
The madness ability is treated as an substitution and Instead type ability, so they can ignore cards such as King Alcadeias, Holy Gaia. However the Psychen Pippi and Super Psychen Pippi cards don't use the "instead" term, so they can't be used to ignore those cards.
After November 24, 2011 rule changes, Ghost Punish does not trigger the Madness abilities.
While the majority of the creatures have optional "may" abilities, 3 cards have forced Madness abilities:
In the English game, Bingole and Delacerna are both optional.
Both Samurai and Knight creatures have Admiral creatures which have Madness abilities, however creature is the only card type to have the ability, no cross gears or spells exist that can be played after being discarded.
Effects and Abilities
- Oneshot Effect
- Continuous Effect
- Static Ability
- Trigger Ability
- Activated Ability
- Spell Ability