Inherit 引き継ぎ (Hikitsugi) | |
---|---|
Dmwiki.net: | Article |
Inherit is a term used for a card receiving and keeping effects when it changes state or becomes another card.
List of Inherit cases[]
A card inherits effects from its previous form in the following examples;
- When a creature evolves.
- When an evolution creature degenerates.
- When a creature God Links.
- When a God Link is broken.
- When a creature flips and the card type changes as a result
- When a creature flips with Psychic Link or Link Release.
- When a creature switchs.
- When a creature transforms. (see: Akashic Parallel)
- When the top card of a creature is moved onto another creature (informally known as 横跳び or 'sidejump').
Cases where Inherit doesn't occur[]
When a Magic Tool creature in the battle zone is stacked using the Gate of Moonless Night ability and then becomes a different creature.
- Only the Evolution Source is retained and put under the 'Gate of Moonless Night' creature. Previously, even the evolution source wasn't retained, and cards under the magic tools card were separated and rebuilt.
When a creature switches between the battle zone and other zones:
- For an ongoing attack, only the minimum necessary information is retained: the fact that it is the current Attacking Creature and its tapped or untapped state. Everything else is not carried over. If characteristics need to be referenced, the past state is used.
Resolution of Inheriting[]
When a spell, Activated Ability or Trigger Ability resolves, if the affected card evolves, awakens, or otherwise changes into a creature with a different name, the effects it received are inherited.
However, Continuous Effects from a Static Ability aren't inherited because they don't follow a resolution process. Instead, they constantly apply to the creature as long as it meets the conditions.
Inheriting power[]
- When a creature that has received a power increase or reduction through resolution evolves into a creature with a different name, that state is inherited.
- For example, if Glory Muscle is used to give Taiga, the Warrior Savage +4000 power until the end of the turn, and it evolves into Gatling, Sonic, the Gatling will retain the +4000 power until the end of the turn.
- When multiple creatures that have received power boosts or reductions through resolution combine into a single creature with Vortex Evolution, Galaxy Vortex Evolution, Super Infinite Evolution, God Link or Psychic Link, the total amount of power increase or decreased is inherited by the resulting creature.
- For example, if Glory Muscle gives Cocco Lupia +4000 power until the end of the turn, and Piyozu Bootcamp gives Terradragon Regarion +5000 power until the start of the next turn, and those two creatures evolve into Soul Phoenix, Avatar of Unity with Vortex Evolution, 'Soul Phoenix' will have +9000 power. Then, at the end of the turn, Glory Muscle's effect expires, leaving it with +5000 power, and at the start of the next turn, Piyozu Boot Camp's effect expires, returning it to its base power.
- If Geki, Dragon Ultimate God has +3000 power from a spell or triggered ability and 'Metsu, Dragon Ultimate God has -2000 power, and they God Link, the resulting creature will have +1000 power.
- Conversely, when a single creature splits into multiple creatures due to Link Release, the power boost or reduction is inherited separately by each resulting creature.
- For example, if Geki and Metsu with +2000 power is unlinked, both Geki, Dragon Ultimate God and Metsu, Dragon Ultimate God will each retain +2000 power.
- As mentioned above, when multiple creatures merge into one, the total power boost or reduction is inherited by the resulting creature. However, when one creature splits into multiple, each resulting creature retains the power boost or reduction separately. By utilizing this, a loop can be created where multiple creatures with power boosts are merged into one, then split into multiple creatures, then merged again, continually increasing their power before the effect expires.
- For example, if 'Geki, Dragon Ultimate God' and 'Metsu, Dragon Ultimate God' each have +2000 power from a spell or triggered ability and they God Link, the resulting creature will have +4000 power. If they are then unlinked, 'Geki, Dragon Ultimate God' and 'Metsu, Dragon Ultimate God' will each retain +4000 power. If they are linked again, the resulting creature will have +8000 power, and this process can be repeated.
Other characteristics and inheriting applied effects[]
The inheritance of added civilizations, added races, granted abilities or effects, and applied effects through resolution also occurs.
- When three creatures, one that gained the Gaial Command Dragon race by Violent Dragon Alarm, one that gained the Mach Fighter ability from Stagem, Strange Stone / Mach Knuckle, and one that had an unblockable effect applied from Kaibashila, Shell Beast / Covashila Pokopoko—evolve into a single creature with Galaxy Vortex Evolution, the resulting evolved creature inherits the Gaial Command Dragon race, the Mach Fighter ability, and the unblockable effect.
- "Transformation" (an unofficial term for the ability of Akashic Third, the Electro-Bandit) where a creature "becomes" another creature was once a mechanic with special inheritance properties, but due to a ruling change prompted by the introduction of Akashic Parallel, it's now treated as a continuous effect included under this category.
Inheriting for creatures[]
- A creature designated as "this creature" or "that creature" will still be treated as the same creature even if it evolves, awakens, or otherwise changes into a different creature.
- For example, if you cast Perfect Nature and use the modal ability of 'Put a creature that costs 5 or less from your mana zone into the battle zone.' twice; once to put Sir Virginia, Mystic Light Insect into the battle zone and then again to summon Zombeaver, Zombie over the Sir Virginia, the race referenced by the ability of 'Sir Virginia, Mystic Light Insect' will reference the races of Zombeaver, Zombie (Demon Command / Invader).
Inheriting for attacks[]
An attacking creature that evolves retains its attack state as an 'Attacking Creature', which is inherited by the evolution creature. This also applies when performing God Link or Psychic Link. If an attacking creature is split into multiple creatures due to Link Release or similar effects, one of them will continue the attack.
In the case of Revolution Change or Jokers Change, the attack is also transferred to the creature that enters the battle zone through the switch.
- However, since the pre-switch creature leaves the battle zone, any effects resolved on it aren't inherited.
- On the other hand, its tap or untapped state is inherited. If the pre-switch creature was tapped, the new creature will be put into the battle zone tapped as well.
Inheriting "equipment"[]
- When a creature equipped with a Cross Gear, Weapon, or Aura (collectively referred to as "equipment") evolves, the equipped state is inherited.
- If the creature splits into multiple creatures due to an ability such as Link Release, the player can choose which of the separated creatures inherits each piece of equipment.
- When a Cross Gear evolves (or de-evolves with the top card removed) through Evolution Cross Gear, the equipped target remains unchanged.
Inheriting "tap/untap" state[]
For example, when flipping a Psychic Creature to another Psychic Creature, if it was untapped before flipping, it remains untapped, and if it was tapped before flipping, it remains tapped.
When using multiple cards as evolution sources or performing God Link, if some of the base cards are tapped and others are untapped, the tapped state takes priority (Comprehensive Rules 801.2b, 803.3a) so if even one of the base cards is tapped, the resulting object will be tapped.
If it changes into a card type that doesn't have a tap state, such as a Fortress, its state is reset. If it changes into a card type that does have a tap state, such as a Tamaseed, it retains its state.
Putting an evolution creature on top of a tapped creature doesn't necessarily mean it will remain tapped; for example, Crossbow War! Momo Castle Tower treats it as "entering untapped" as a substitution effect. The same applies to Revolution Change, even if a tapped attacking creature is swapped into the battle zone, if you have 'Crossbow War! Momo Castle Tower]' present in the battle zone, the tapped state is replaced with an effect to put them in an untapped state.
- Degenerate, however, is ruled as not putting a new card into the battle zone, so Crossbow War! Momo Castle Tower's replacement effect doesn't activate. If a creature degenerates while tapped, it remains tapped.
Inheriting "summoning sickness"[]
These below cases regarding summoning sickness fundamentally follow a different concept from "inherit".
By definition, whether a card has been in the battle zone since the previous turn or if it entered during the current turn is remembered separately for each card.
Considering devolution, suppose you use Death March, Reaper Puppeteer and Dragon Pulse Technique - Fortress Destroyer in a single turn to bring out Genmu Emperor, Infinite Dragon, it will have summoning sickness. The reason is since that 'Death March' carried over the information of when it entered, but rather that the evolved 'Genmu Emperor' hasn't been in the battle zone continuously since the start of your turn, its summoning sickness hasn't been removed.
Another example is Evidegoras, Dragon Sonic Aircraft Carrier. Suppose you put it as a Fortress using Metal Avenger Solid, Dragon Ruler, then in the same turn, you cast two copies of Dragment Point to Dragsolution it into Q.E.D. Plus, Final Dragon Logic. It will have summoning sickness. At first glance, it may seem like the summoning sickness is being inherited, but according to the definition, each card individually remembers how long it has been in the battle zone. Since Double Sided Card are inherently the same card, they naturally retain the same state regarding summoning sickness. Additionally, as noted by the wording "per card" rather than "per creature", summoning sickness is determined even for Non-Creature Cards.
Weapons work the same way. If Glenmalt "Blade", King Dragon Ruler equips Gaial, Leader Dragon Sword and attacks in the same turn as a Gaial Command Dragon, it will Dragsolution into Gaiburn, Furious Leader Dragon. However, as 'Gaiburn' has only just been put into the battle zone that turn as a card, it is affected by summoning sickness.
Lastly, take Sonandes (Razor Star) as an example. If an evolution source that cost 2 was put on the previous turn and then evolved on the next turn, it can attack tapped or untapped creatures. The turn in which the evolution source was played is not inherited by the newly evolved top creature.
- Creatures composed of multiple cards negate summoning sickness through rules or abilities.
- The most notable example is Evolution Creatures, as their evolution supertype inherently prevents summoning sickness.
- God Link and Grand Prix Psychic Link creatures like Volg Isolate 6th, Victorious Summit also don't experience summoning sickness, even if they link a creature that has summoning sickness with one that does not. Naturally, even if all linked creatures have summoning sickness, the resulting creature won't.
- The only linking Dragheart, All Over The World, Supreme True Dragon Soul, doesn't have rule-based support, but it circumvents summoning sickness by possessing Speed Attacker.
- Even if summoning sickness is temporarily removed, it doesn't permanently disappear. If the conditions that negated summoning sickness are lost, the creature will regain summoning sickness. See also "Speed Attacker."
- If a creature with summoning sickness links via God Link with a creature that doesn't, and the link is broken within the same turn, each creature will individually refer to its own summoning sickness status. This also applies to creatures such as Gaial Ore Dragon, the Vainglory who were flipped by Victory Psychic Link.
- If a creature is put into the battle zone as a Neo Creature and then gains an additional card under it during the same turn (e.g., via Juicedas Tank), it becomes a Neo Evolution Creature and is no longer affected by summoning sickness due to the rules of that supertype. However, if that additional card is removed by targeted removal within the same turn, the creature will regain summoning sickness.
- There is no inheritance, but at the same time, information isn't reset.
- If a creature that is or isn't affected by summoning sickness gets sealed, then has its seal removed in the same turn, its summoning sickness state remains unchanged from before it was sealed.
- Only psychic creatures have a special rule.
- If a psychic creature is affected by summoning sickness and awakens the awakened side doesn't have summoning sickness.
- If it's flipped over not by the Awaken ability but through a pseudo-awakening effect like that of Sword Saint Jigen, Awoken Dragon World, summoning sickness remains. The same applies to STARSCREAM -BOT MODE-.
- If a creature awakens, it can act without summoning sickness even on the turn it entered. However, if it's flipped back to its original side via Link Release or similar effects, it will regain summoning sickness.
- Creatures that enter the battle zone via Revolution Change have summoning sickness. Dogiragon Nova, Blue Guardian Deity uses Final Revolution to bring out Val Bolshack, Flying Revolution and untaps 'Dogiragon Nova', but it can't attack a second time due to summoning sickness.
- Additionally, while Dogiragon Buster, Blue Leader is also subject to summoning sickness by rule, it gets the Speed Attacker keyword through its static ability, meaning it's not affected by summoning sickness and can attack a second time in the same situation.
Inherit Chart[]
- Split: If divided into multiple objects, the same value is inherited by all of those objects.
- Single: If divided into multiple objects, only one of them will carry over. If you have multiple cards, you can choose which card will inherit.
- ※: Tap takes priority
Increase Power |
"this creature" standby state |
Equipment | Evolves | Attacks | Tap | Summoning Sickness | |
---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
When a creature evolves | ○ | ○ | ○ | ○ | ○ | ○※ | Evolution creatures don't get summoning sickness |
When evolution creatures degenerate | ○ | ○ | ○ | ○ | ○ | ○ | The new top card depends on the turn it was played. |
When link | ○ | ○ | ○ | ○ | ○ | ○※ | God Link and Awakened card's don't get summoning sickness |
When link is broken | ○ (split) | ○ (split) | ○ (single) | ○ (single) | ○ (single) | ○ (split) | Depends on the turn the card was placed |
When flipped to a creature | ○ | ○ | ○ | ○ | ○ | ○ | A side flipped by 'Awaken' doesn't get summoning sickness. If it was flipped in another way, it may have summoning sickness. |
When flipped to a fortress | o | o | x | o | x | - | |
When Tamaseed isnt considered a creature | o | o | x | o | x | o | |
When replaced | x | x | x | x | o | ○ | Summoning sickness. |
When sealed | o | x | ○ | ○ | x | ○ | Depends on the turn the card was played. |
When evolution creature "jumps" | ○ (split) | ? | ? | o | o | o | Evolution creatures don't get summoning sickness. |
When placed on a Magic Tool with 'Gate of Moonless Night' | x | x | ? | ○ | x | x | Summoning Sickness. |
When non-evolution degenerates | Doesn't exist as an object and is placed in the graveyard. |