Duel Masters Wiki
Duel Masters Wiki
コスト (Kosuto)
Dmwiki.net: Article

Cost has two meanings in Duel Masters.


It refers to the following;

Explanation of 1[]

1 Tulk, the Oracle
Tulk, the Oracle
Light Light / Creature
Light Bringer

5 O'Flame, Temporal Djinn
Fire Fire / Psychic Creature
Flame Command
■ Awaken—When this creature attacks your opponent and isn't blocked, each of your other psychic creatures that cost 5 or less gets "power attacker +2000" and breaks an additional shield until the end of the turn. After the attack, flip this creature to its higher cost side.

In the case of a card in your deck, you may play the card by paying for its Mana Cost in mana during the Main Step.

In the case of a card that starts in your hyperspatial zone, instead of paying mana, you put them into the battle zone by the effect of cards such as Hyperspatial spells. These cards refer to the cost of the card which is known as the Hyperspatial Cost.

While they are used and described differently, in the text field of a card, they are both collectively expressed as "Cost".

Explanation of 2[]

4 Dark Soul Creation
Darkness Darkness / Spell
You may destroy one of your creatures. If you do, draw 3 cards.

6 Bolmeteus Musha Dragon
Fire Fire / Creature
Armored Dragon
■ Double breaker
■ Whenever this creature attacks, you may put one of your shields into your graveyard. If you do, destroy one of your opponent's creatures that has power 6000 or less.

In the effect clause of the ability, it is written as "If you do A, do B". If you can't do the A condition, you can't do the B effect.

For example, if you attack with Bolmeteus Musha Dragon but not put any of your shields into your graveyard, you can't destroy any of your opponents creatures.

However, in the case of Volcanic Arrows, "Choose one of your shields and put it into your graveyard." is written as part of a secondary effect, and not as a condition for the first ability. Therefore, it's not treated as a cost and you may remove a creature even if you don't have a shield to remove.

Rules of Cost

  • In the case of "If C, do D" represented by the "If you do, EFFECT", it is possible to pay the cost assuming that the "If you do" condition was paid. However, if there was even one card corresponding to "C", you won't have paid the cost if you don't use it. For example) If you summon Zeta-File, Zenith of "Mystery", even if you destroy no other creatures, you are still able to reanimate any Demon Commands from your graveyard. If you had any other creatures, you must destroy them in order to reanimate.
  • The cost is paid even if other events occur such as the cost being increased or decreased, or replaced with a Continuous Effect such as a Replacement Effect. For example, if you destroy Aqua Soldier with Dark Soul Creation, it will return to your hand, but as the Destroy cost was paid, you can draw 3 cards.
  • When referring to the cost paid by an effect, it isn't possible to refer to the substituted cost. However, if the cost is paid for by destruction, even if the destruction is replaced, it can be counted for abilities that include "for each creature destroyed in this way". For example, if the destruction is replaced with the ability of Perfect Galaxy, Immortality Elemental when destroyed by Zabi Mira, the Reviving Shaman, you can put out a Psychic Creature.



From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.41 (April 12, 2024)

  • 112. Cost
    • 112.1. A card has a mana cost to be used.
    • 112.2. Mana Cost is the amount of mana you need to pay to use the card. This includes the payment of civilization that the card has.
      • 112.2a When paying for a card's Mana Cost, you must also tap cards that match the card's civilizations. You are required to tap at least 1 card of each civilization of that card's respective civilizations in order to pay for that cost. If needed, you need to tap any additional cards (if needed) to pay for the remainder of the cards total cost.

        Example: If you are paying for the cost of a Darkness/Fire multicolored card that has a Mana Cost of 4, you must tap a Darkness and Fire card in your mana zone and then tap an additional number of cards (regardless of their civilization) to pay the remainder of the cards. Even if you tap a multicolored card that is 2 or more civilizations, it can only contribute 1 civilization per card.

      • 112.2b The Mana required to pay for a card's cost can be increased or decreased by the use of various effects. If the cost of a card falls below the number of civilizations that are required to summon it, the tapping of civilizations is given priority over the cost. For example, if a player has Cocco Lupia (which reduces the cost of a Dragon by 2) on their side of the battle zone and want to summon Perfect Earth, Planetary Dragon (a Dragon with each of the 5 civilizations), they will be required to still tap 5 cards in their mana zone to pay for the civilization requirements of the card regardless of the cost required to summon being reduced to 3.
      • 112.2c If the payment of civilization and the total cost of the card is fulfilled, you can't tap any additional mana.
    • 112.3. There are several abilities that are able to use cards without paying for their mana cost (these cards include "for no cost" in their text).
      • 112.3a 'Shield Trigger' is an ability that can be used immediately without paying the cost by showing the card to your opponent and declaring it when the shield is added to your hand (usually by a Break). If multiple cards that have 'Shield Trigger' are added to your hand at the same time from your shields, show each card you want to use to your opponent and declare their usage. Once all cards have been declared, use the cards one by one. For spells, they are resolved as a 'spell effect', and creatures resolve by summoning the creature. Effects that trigger by being put into the battle zone are resolved afterwards as a separate game event. This is also true for generating cross gear and expanding fields.
      • 112.3b 'Strike Back' is an ability that can be declared and used immediately from your hand without paying the cards mana cost, if a card with a specific type is put into your hand from your shield zone, and you choose to discard that card. If a card with 'Strike Back' and a card specified by the Strike Back ability is added to your hand from your shields at the same time, as the 'Strike Back' card wasn't in your hand already, you can't use the ability. Like 'Shield Trigger', spells are resolved as a 'spell effect', and creatures resolve by summoning the creature. Effects that trigger by being put into the battle zone are resolved afterwards as a separate game event. This is also true for generating cross gear and expanding fields.
      • 112.3c 'Ninja Strike' is an ability that is is resolved by the non-active player after the active player attacks with a creature, or on the active players when the non-active player blocks with a creature, and is able to summon a creature without paying their cost if you have a specified number of cards are in your mana zone. Even if the conditions are not met at the timing before that, it can be used if the usage conditions are met at the timing of declaration.
      • 112.3d 'Gravity Zero' is an ability that allows you to summon creatures and cast spells without paying their cost if you fulfill specified conditions.
      • 112.3e Even if you use an effect that includes "you may ~, for no cost" in the effect text, the keyword action of "Summon", "Cast" or "Generate" is still performed so any abilities that would trigger from those actions still occur.
      • 112.3f 'Attack Chance' is an ability that allows you to cast a spell without paying their cost if you fulfill specified conditions.
    • 112.4. A card put into the Hyperspatial Zone and Super Gacharange have mana costs, but these cards can't be used by paying mana except through card effects.

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.41 (April 12, 2024)

  • 112. コスト
    • 112.1. カードは、それを使用するためのマナコストを持ちます。
    • 112.2. マナコストは、カードを使用するために支払う必要のあるマナの量を示しています。そこにはそのカードが持つ文明の支払いも含まれています。
      • 112.2a マナコストを支払う場合、マナコストに指示される同じ文明をすべて満たすようにタップします。カードを使用するに際してまずマナコストに含まれる文明をすべて満たすようにマナゾーンのカードを1文明につき1枚タップします。さらにマナゾーンのカードのマナシンボル上に書かれた数値の合計がコストと同じ数になるように、不足分をマナゾーンのカードをタップして支払います。
        例: マナコスト7の火と闇と自然の文明を持つ多色カードのコストを支払う場合、マナゾーンから火文明を持つカード、闇文明を持つカード、自然文明を持つカードをそれぞれ別々に1枚ずつタップして、さらにマナの数値が合計7になるように不足している分をタップします。1枚で火と闇と自然すべてを持つ多色カードをタップしても、それで全ての文明を満たしたことにはならず、火か闇か自然のうちどれか一つの文明として扱います。
      • 112.2b プレイヤーが実際に支払うマナコストは、効果によって増減することがあります。マナコストがコスト減少効果によって必要な文明の数より少なくなった場合、文明の支払いを優先します。このとき超過した分のマナは支払い終了時になくなります。
        例: 《コッコ・ルピア》がいてコストが3になった《星龍パーフェクト・アース》は、文明の支払いのためにマナゾーンのカードを5枚タップすることが可能です。
      • 112.2c 文明やコストの支払いが適切に完了している場合、余分にマナゾーンのカードをタップすることはできません。
      • 112.2d O・ドライブで支払うマナコストは追加コストとして扱います。
    • 112.3. マナコストを支払うことなくカードを使用することができる能力がいくつか存在します。また、特定のタイミングで使用する能力は使用宣言が必要です。
      • 112.3a S・トリガーはブレイクなどでシールドが手札に加えられるとき、そのカードを対戦相手に見せて宣言することで、即座にコストを支払わずに使うことができます。複数の S・トリガーを持つカードがシールドから手札に加えられる場合、使用するカードを対戦相手に見せて宣言を行います。すべての宣言が終わったら、それらのカードを1枚ずつ使います。呪文の場合は呪文の効果解決までが S・トリガーの能力となりますが、クリーチャーは召喚することまでが S・トリガー能力です。バトルゾーンに出たことによって誘発する効果は別個のイベントとして扱います。これはクロスギアのジェネレートやフィールドを展開する事についても同義です。
      • 112.3b S・バックは、この能力を持つカードが使用できるゾーン(通常は手札)にある状態で、指定されたカードがシールドから手札に加えられるとき、そのカードを捨てて宣言することで、即座にコストを支払わずに使うことができます。S・バックを持つカードと指定されたカードがシールドから同時に手札に加えられる場合、そのS・バックのカードは手札にある状態ではないので、S・バックの能力を使う事はできません。S・バックの能力もS・トリガーと同様に、呪文の場合は呪文の効果解決までがS・バックの能力となりますが、クリーチャーは召喚することまでがS・バック能力です。バトルゾーンに出た事によって誘発する効果は別個のイベントとして扱います。これはクロスギアのジェネレートやフィールドを展開する事についても同義です。
      • 112.3c ニンジャ・ストライクは、ターン・プレイヤーのクリーチャーが攻撃した後の非ターン・プレイヤーの処理タイミング、または非ターン・プレイヤーのクリーチャーがブロックした後のターン・プレイヤーの処理タイミングにおいて、指定されたマナゾーンの枚数を満たしていた場合にクリーチャーのコストを支払わずに召喚する能力です。能力の使用宣言を行うタイミングで指定されたマナゾーンの枚数を満たしていなかったとしても、解決の際にマナゾーンの枚数を満たしていた場合はコストを支払わずに召喚できます。
      • 112.3d サバキZは、この能力を持つカードが使用できるゾーン(通常は手札)にある状態で、裁きの紋章を持つカードがシールドから手札に加えられたとき、そのカードを捨てて宣言することで、即座にコストを支払わずに使うことができます。サバキZを持つカードと裁きの紋章を持つカードがシールドから同時に手札に加えられた場合でも、手札に加わった裁きの紋章を持つカードを捨てることで、そのサバキZの能力を使う事ができます。サバキZの能力もS・トリガーと同様に、呪文の場合は呪文の効果解決までがサバキZの能力となりますが、クリーチャーは召喚することまでがサバキZの能力です。
      • 112.3e G・ゼロは指定された条件下においてクリーチャーや呪文のコストを支払わずに召喚したり唱えたりする能力です。
      • 112.3f アタック・チャンスは指定された条件下において呪文のコストを支払わずに唱えてもよい能力です。
      • 112.3g その他「コストを支払うことなく使用してよい」という効果を使用した場合でも、「召喚」したり、「唱え」たり「ジェネレート」する行為自体は実行されているので、その行為によって誘発する能力は誘発します。
    • 112.4. 超次元ゾーンや超GRに置かれるカードもマナコストを持ちますが、特別な効果が無い限り、これらのカードをマナを支払って使用することはできません。

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.41 (April 12, 2024)

  • 201. Cost
    • 201.1. Cost is a characteristic of a card. A card's cost is usually indicated by a number written in the upper corner.
      • 201.1a The mana cost of a card represents the amount of mana a player must pay to use the card.
      • 201.1b Psychic creatures and draghearts have a mana costs but they can't be summoned by paying mana and aren't put from the hyperspatial zone except through card effects.
    • 201.2. When referring to the cost of the card, refer to that number.
      • 201.2a The cost of a card always refers to the cost originally written on the card even if an effect modifies the cost of using the card.

        Example: The cost of 'Bolshack NEX' is 6 while it's in the battle zone even if there are any 'Cocco Lupia' in the battle zone as well. Therefore, it can't be destroyed by the effect of 'Hyperspatial Musha Hole' which destroys creatures that cost 4 or less.

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.41 (April 12, 2024)

  • 201. コスト
    • 201.1. コストはカードの持つ特性です。通常カードの左上隅に記されている数字で示されています。
      • 201.1a カードのマナコストの数値は、そのカードを使用するために支払う必要のあるマナの数を表します。
      • 201.1b サイキックやドラグハートはマナコストを持ちますが、特別な効果が無い限り、超次元ゾーンからマナを支払って召喚することはできません。
    • 201.2. カードのコストを参照する場合、その数値を参照します。
      • 201.2a 効果によってカードを使用する際のコストが変更されているときであっても、カードのコストを参照する場合は本来カードに書かれているコストを参照します。
        例: 《コッコ・ルピア》がいる状態であってもバトルゾーンにいる《ボルシャック・NEX》のコストは6であり、コスト4以下を破壊する《超次元ムシャ・ホール》の効果によっては破壊されません。
      • 201.2b ツインパクトのように2つのコストを持つカードが存在します。2つのコストを持つカードのコストを効果や能力によって参照する場合、その効果や能力を使ったプレイヤーは、そのうちの好きな方のコストのみを参照します。
        例: 《7777777》を唱えたプレイヤーが対戦相手の山札の上から表向きにしたツインパクトカードを選んだ場合、《7777777》を唱えたプレイヤーが参照するコストを選ぶ。
      • 201.2c ガチンコ・ジャッジでツインパクトのように2つのコストを持つカードを見せた場合、能力を使ったプレイヤーではなく、それを見せたプレイヤーが参照するコストを決定します。これは、201.2bの例外です。