FANDOM


(Other Details)
Line 39: Line 39:
 
*Keywords such as [[Lost Prism]] or [[Samurai Generation]] exist that are CiP abilities.
 
*Keywords such as [[Lost Prism]] or [[Samurai Generation]] exist that are CiP abilities.
 
*Many [[Zenith]] creatures (as well as [[Steiner, the Resurrecting Reaper]]) have an CiP ability that only triggers when they are [[summon]]ed. This means that they can only activate their effects by tapping mana to put them into the [[battle zone]] or via an effect such as [[Shield Trigger]]. Their effect can't trigger when you put them into the battle zone [[For No Cost]].
 
*Many [[Zenith]] creatures (as well as [[Steiner, the Resurrecting Reaper]]) have an CiP ability that only triggers when they are [[summon]]ed. This means that they can only activate their effects by tapping mana to put them into the [[battle zone]] or via an effect such as [[Shield Trigger]]. Their effect can't trigger when you put them into the battle zone [[For No Cost]].
*[[DMR-13 Dragon Solution Gaiginga]] was the first set to feature a card with a static ability that referred to CiP abilities on [[Wald Brachio, Absolute World King]] which prevented your opponents creatures from triggering when they are put into the battle zone.
+
*[[DMR-13 Dragon Solution Gaiginga]] was the first set to feature a card with a static ability that referred to CiP abilities on [[Wald Brachio, Absolute World King]] which prevented your opponent's creatures CiP effects from triggering when they are put into the battle zone.
   
 
==Related Abilities==
 
==Related Abilities==

Revision as of 12:44, December 31, 2014

Come Into Play
cip能力
Japanese Wiki: 534

Come Into Play is a term used for the ability of creatures (or weapon) for when they are put into the battle zone.

It is also commonly referred to as a "CiP" ability.

Details

There are many popular examples of creatures with a CiP ability in each of the civilizations, such as Aqua Surfer for Water, Jenny, the Dismantling Puppet for Darkness, or Bronze-Arm Tribe for the Nature Civilization.

Bronze-Arm Tribe

Nature / Creature / Beast Folk / 3 / 1000
■ When you put this creature into the battle zone, put the top card of your deck into your mana zone.
Bronze-Arm Tribe


The ability triggers as soon as the creature is put into the battle zone, so it is an easy ability to use and remember. It's also more reliable than a Tap Ability or an Attack-triggered ability as the creature does not need to wait out summoning sickness in order to activate their ability.

Many of them have a lower than usual cost-to-power ratio due to the usefulness over using a spell, as they are still able to attack, block, or be evolved over and have a presence in the battle zone.

These creatures are still able to be used when you can't cast any spells such as when Spell Del Fin, Light Divine Dragon is in the field.

Rules

  • These abilities trigger even when this creature is summoned, or played For No Cost.
  • When multiple creatures enter the battle zone with a CiP ability enter at the same time, the active player may resolve them in the order of their choosing. For example, cards such as Cyber G Hogan or Heaven's Gate can cause this.
  • If the top card of an evolution creature is sent to the graveyard or elsewhere, leaving behind a creature with a CiP ability, it doesn't trigger as it already existed in the battle zone.
  • Cards such as Rose Castle and Funk, Guard of Hope have a static ability to reduce the power of creatures in the battle zone. While they would immediately destroy low power creatures that enter the battle zone, they are still able to trigger their CiP abilities after they are then destroyed.
  • Due to the substitution rule and the word "Instead" replacing the event of a creature entering the battle zone, cards such as Dorago the Great, Dragon World and VAN Beethoven, Zenith of "Fighting" prevent creatures from using their CiP ability.
  • While slightly misleading, Shield Force and God Link are not treated as a CiP ability. They are static abilities that happen while the creature is still in the battle zone, rather than just having they are put into it.

Other Details

Related Abilities

"187 Ability"

The 187 ability is a slang term taken from Magic: The Gathering. It refers to a creature with a come into play ability that destroys a creature. The term comes from the creature known as "Nekrataal". It is named "187" due to being the San Fransisco police code for a murder. It is often read the same way, as 1-8-7 or Wan Eiti Sebun (ワン・エイティ・セブン).

Nekrataal
  • 2BB/Creature/Human Assassin
  • First Strike
  • When Nekrataal enters the battlefield, destroy target nonartifact, nonblack creature. That creature can't be regenerated.
  • 2/1

In Duel Masters, it is first featured on Thunder Blade, Wolf Tiger. Creatures such as Swamp Worm or Olzekia, General of Decapitation destroy your opponent creatures via a CiP effect, but it has your opponent choose the removal target and is not considered a true "187 Ability".

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.