Duel Masters Wiki
Duel Masters Wiki
ブレイク (Bureiku)
DM-Wiki: Article

Break is a keyword action.


It is the act of putting one of your opponent's shields into their hand when one of your creatures in the battle zone attacks your opponent and isn't blocked.

If there is no creature with the Blocker keyword to stop the attack, one of your opponent's shields is broken. That means you get to choose one of those shields and your opponent puts it into their hand (unless an effect such as Bolmeteus Steel Dragon says otherwise). It also enables the opponent to use cards with the Shield Trigger ability, so attacking recklessly may cause ambush and reversal.

Break is referenced on Breaker abilities signifying how many shields a creature with the ability will break when they attack your opponent, as well as to trigger the conditions of Turbo Rush.

There are Additional Break cards that allow your creatures to break additional shields.


From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.20 (July 17, 2020)

  • 701.14. Break
    • 701.14a To break a shield is to put it into its owner's hand. Break can be caused by attacking with a creature or by other effects.
    • 701.14b Putting a shield into its owner's hand is not always caused by breaking shields.

      Example: A creature with the ability to break a single shield adds another ability When returning the shield to your hand, it is not a break, so it will not break an additional.

    • 701.14c When multiple shields are broken by an effect, they are moved into their owners' hands at the same time. This is different from breaking shields due to a Breaker ability.
    • 701.14d The effect of breaking the shield is also effective for a break by attack. It also affects both.

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.20 (July 17, 2020)

  • 701.14. ブレイクする
    • 701.14a シールドをブレイクするとは, シールドをそのプレイヤーの手札に加えることです.これはクリーチャーによる攻撃か, その他の効果によって発生します.
    • 701.14b シールドを手札に戻すという効果はブレイクと同じ挙動をしますが, ブレイクすることを条件とする効果は適用されません.例 . シールドを追加で 1 枚ブレイクするという能力を持つクリーチャーが, そのほかの能力でシールドを手札に戻す場合, ブレイクではないので追加でブレイクすることはない.
    • 701.14c 効果によって複数枚のシールドがブレイクされるとき, それは同時に手札に移動します.これは, ブレイカー能力によるブレイクとは異なります.
    • 701.14d シールドを追加でブレイクさせる効果は, 攻撃によるブレイクにも効果によるブレイクにもどちらにも影響します.