FANDOM


Block declaration step is the second substep of the attack step.

Details

During the block declaration step, the non-active player specifies a blocking creature. Any abilities that trigger on blocking trigger. Also, if a creature is put into the battle zone while being blocked, it is considered a blocked creature, but in terms of triggered events and effects it is not treated as a blocked creature.

Rulings

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.13 (March 16th, 2018)

  • 507. Block Declaration Step
    • 507.1. The nonactive player specifies a blocking creature.
      • 507.1a The nonactive player may choose one of their creatures to block the attack. The creature must be able to block properly in order to be chosen. It must have Blocker ability and has to be untapped. If the creature has some condition to be able to block, it can’t block unless the condition is met. It is not possible to block creature which cannot be blocked.
      • 507.1b The chosen creature becomes a blocking creatue. It remains a blocking creature until it's removed from the attack or until the end of attack step, whichever comes first.
      • 507.1c The nonactive player taps the chosen creature.
      • 507.1d The attacking creature becomes a blocked creature. It remains a blocked creature until it's removed from the attack or until the end of attack step, whichever comes first. A creature remains blocked even if all the blocking creature is removed from the attack.
    • 507.2. Any abilities that trigger on blocking trigger.
      • 507.2a If an ability triggers when a creature with certain characteristics blocks, it will trigger only if the creature has those characteristics at the point a blocker is declared, or at the point an effect causes it to block. If an ability triggers when a creature with certain characteristics becomes blocked, it will trigger only if the creature has those characteristics at the point it becomes a blocked creature. If an ability triggers when a creature becomes blocked by a creature with certain characteristics, it will trigger only if the latter creature has those characteristics at the point it becomes a blocking creature. None of those abilities will trigger if the relevant creature’s characteristics change to match the ability’s trigger condition later on.

        Example: A creature has the ability "Whenever this creature becomes blocked by a light creature, destroy that creature at the end of attack." If it becomes blocked by a darkness creature, even if it changes to a light creature, the ability will not trigger.

      • 507.2b An ability that reads “Whenever a creature attacks and isn’t blocked” triggers if no creature was declared as a blocker for that creature. It won’t trigger if the attacking creature is blocked and then the blocking creature is removed from the attack.
      • 507.2c If any abilities that trigger for the active player are modal, the active player chooses the modes at the time of the trigger.
      • 507.2d After that, the active player resolves their pending abilities in any order.
      • 507.2e If any abilities that trigger for the nonactive player are modal, the nonactive player chooses the modes at the time of the trigger.
      • 507.2f After that, the nonactive player resolves their pending abilities in any order.
    • 507.3. If a creature is put into the battle zone while being blocked, it is considered a blocked creature, but in terms of triggered events and effects it is not treated as a blocked creature.

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.13 (March 16th, 2018)

  • 507. ブロッククリーチャー指定ステップ
    • 507.1. 非ターン・プレイヤーはブロッククリーチャーを指定します.
      • 507.1a 非ターン・プレイヤーは, どのクリーチャーがブロックするかを選びます(この選択は任意です).選ぶクリーチャーは適正にブロックできる状態でなければいけません.ブロッカー能力を持ち, アンタップ状態でなければいけません.ブロックするために何らかの条件を必要とするクリーチャーは, その条件を満たせない状態でブロッククリーチャーとして指定することができません.「ブロックされない」能力を持つクリーチャーを適正にブロックできるクリーチャーは存在しません.
      • 507.1b 選ばれたクリーチャーはブロッククリーチャーになります.「その攻撃」から取り除かれるか, または攻撃終了ステップまで, それはブロッククリーチャーであり続けます.
      • 507.1c ターン・プレイヤーは選んだクリーチャーをタップします.
      • 507.1d ブロッククリーチャーにブロックされた攻撃クリーチャーは, 「ブロックされたクリーチャー」になります.ブロッククリーチャーが存在しないクリーチャーは「ブロックされなかったクリーチャー」になります.「その攻撃」から取り除かれるか, または攻撃終了ステップまでそのままの状態であり続けます.それをブロックしたクリーチャーが「その攻撃」から取り除かれたとしても, ブロックされたクリーチャーはブロックされたままです.
    • 507.2. その後, ブロッククリーチャーが指定されたことによって誘発する能力が誘発し, 効果が全て待機状態となります.
      • 507.2a 特定の特性を持つクリーチャーがブロックしたときに誘発する能力は, そのクリーチャーがブロッククリーチャーとして指定された, あるいは何らかの効果によってブロックした時点でその特性を持っていなければ誘発しません.特定の特性を持つクリーチャーがブロックされたときに誘発する能力は, そのクリーチャーがブロックされたクリーチャーになった時点でその特性を持っていなければ誘発しません.クリーチャーが特定の特性を持つクリーチャーによってブロックされたときに誘発する能力は, 後者のクリーチャーがブロッククリーチャーになった時点でその特性を持っていなければ誘発しません.これらの能力は, その後でクリーチャーの特性が変化して条件を満たすようになったとしてもそのときに誘発することはありません.
      • 507.2a 特定の特性を持つクリーチャーがブロックしたときに誘発する能力は、そのクリーチャーがブロッククリーチャーとして指定された、あるいは何らかの効果によってブロックした時点でその特性を持っていなければ誘発しません。特定の特性を持つクリーチャーがブロックさ:::れたときに誘発する能力は、そのクリーチャーがブロックされたクリーチャーになった時点でその特性を持っていなければ誘発しません。クリーチャーが特定の特性を持つクリーチャーによってブロックされたときに誘発する能力は、後者のクリーチャーがブロッククリーチャーになった時点でその特性を持っていなければ誘発しません。これらの能力は、その後でクリーチャーの特性が変化して条件を満たすようになったとしてもそのときに誘発することはありません。:::例:「このクリーチャーが光のクリーチャーによってブロックされるたび、そのクリーチャーを攻撃終了時に破壊する。」という能力を持つクリーチャーがいるとき、このクリーチャーが闇のクリーチャーでブロックされたあと、そのクリーチャーが光に変わったとしてもこの能力は誘発しません。
      • 507.2b 「クリーチャーが攻撃してブロックされなかったとき」という能力は、そのクリーチャーのブロッククリーチャーが指定されなかった場合に誘発します。ブロックされた後でブロッククリーチャーが「その攻撃」から取り除かれたとしても誘発しません。
      • 507.2c 発する能力には任意で使用をすることができるものがあります。使用する場合、まずターン・プレイヤー側が使用するものをすべて宣言します。
      • 507.2d その後、ターン・プレイヤーの待機状態の効果を好きな順番で処理します。
      • 507.2e 非 ターン・プレイヤー側の、任意で使用をする誘発能力の宣言を行います。
      • 507.2f その後、非ターン・プレイヤーの待機状態の効果を好きな順番で処理します
    • 507.3. クリーチャーがブロックした状態でバトルゾーンに出る場合、それは「ブロッククリーチャー」ですが、誘発イベントや効果の面では「ブロックした」としては扱いません。

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.